
pogie |

I am interested in the prehensile hair hex for a witch and have a few questions.
The fight starts and I use prehensile hair which has a 10ft reach so any enemy attempting to close with me to attack without reach himself will provoke an AoO from me. As an AoO I use a combat manuever and attempt to grapple the attacker. First, if I am successful, is he grappled in the 10ft away square from me and unable to attack me (assuming no reach)? Also, if I grapple as an AoO without the Improved Grapple feat this would normally provoke an AoO back, but if it is occurring 10ft away the enemy can not reach me to attack. Is this correct?

SlimGauge |

From the grapple rules: "If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)." So if you succeeded in your grapple, you're now adjacent to your target who most certainly CAN attempt to do any of the things that a grappled creature can do (attempt escape, do damage, etc.) per the grapple rules.
However, the AoO you provoke for attempting a grapple without Improved Grapple occurs before your grapple attempt. You are indeed out of range of it (assuming your opponent has no reach) so he can't take advantage of the opportunity.

Orfamay Quest |

The fight starts and I use prehensile hair which has a 10ft reach so any enemy attempting to close with me to attack without reach himself will provoke an AoO from me.
Yes.
As an AoO I use a combat manuever and attempt to grapple the attacker. First, if I am successful, is he grappled in the 10ft away square from me and unable to attack me (assuming no reach)?
No. The rules for grapple state that "ff you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)," so he's moved one space closer to you.
Also, if I grapple as an AoO without the Improved Grapple feat this would normally provoke an AoO back, but if it is occurring 10ft away the enemy can not reach me to attack.
That is correct. Similarly, if he's already used his AoO for the turn and does not have combat reflexes, he would not get another AoO even if he had reach.

pogie |

Can't grapple with an AoO, the only maneuvers available with that are disarm, trip, and sunder. (unless you have quick bull rush and other such feats, but nothing like that exists for grapples)
Ok, so I guess the same questions would apply to trip then. I can trip with an unarmed strike which I would guess the hair would qualify as. What square if successful would the trip occur?