Pallid Crystal and non-worshipers of Urgathoa, and other such items


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

A question came up in regards to items like the Pallid Crystal, Windwave Kilt, and Nightstone of Sorrow. Since the two effects are separated by a "." and not an "and", do you have to be a worshiper of that god to get the last effect, ex: healed by both positive/negative energy, drinking water, cause symbol to glow, or just the once per day abilities?


In my opinion with the Pallid Crystal the entire paragraph that starts with "If Urgathoa is your patron" is describing all effects that depend on your being a worshipper of Urgathoa. You wouldn't not get the ability to convert all cure and inflict spells to healing regardless of your creature type. Also, I should not it doesn't affect all positive or negative energy sources, only cure or inflict spells. Lay on Hands uses positive energy, but would not be affected. Not would a cleric's channel ability.

The same applies to the other items as well.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

Sorry to necropost but on page 54 1st column 3rd paragraph of the Gods and Magic book it says any person that could make these items could repurpose them to another god or no god at all for 500 GP. As written the first ability can be used by anyone, while the second one only by a worshiper of the specific god.

A cleric of Irori for example with the craft wondrous item feat could have a Robe of the Master of Masters (receiving it's full benefits) as well as a repurposed Pallid Crystal (also receiving full benefits).

I couldn't imagine a paladin or cleric of Iomedae wearing a Demon Mother's Mask thou.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pallid Crystal and non-worshipers of Urgathoa, and other such items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.