Channel Smite question regarding Cleric / Paladin


Rules Questions


So, one of my players is an Antipaladin (we're playing Way of the Wicked). He's considering going into the Holy Vindicator prestige class. Before doing so, however, he plans to take a single level of Cleric, making him have Channel Energy from two classes. Now, as per the errata, Channel Energy doesn't stack, so he'll have:

A Channel Energy that uses 2x Touch of Corruption

A Channel Energy usable 3 + Cha modifier per day

Now he enters the Holy Vindicator prestige class. What happens? Holy Vindicator says "The vindicator’s class level stacks with levels in any other class that grants the channel energy ability."

From that wording, it sounds like the Holy Vindicator progresses both his Cleric's and his Antipaladin's channel, is that correct?

Grand Lodge

The player must choose which class channel he wants to apply it to.

The precedent in other PrC's and many traits is to choose.
The feat does not say "all" other classes that grant channel energy that the character possesses. If you are going by wording...


Corbin Dallas wrote:
The feat does not say "all"

By "feat" I asume you mean class feature, right? Well, it does say "stacks with levels in any other class". So that could be "any and all classes" or "any one class".

Grand Lodge

Yes the class feature is what I meant.
Sure, in your opinion it could mean anything you want it to.

From a rules standpoint a player must choose. You won't find any support for "any and all classes".


Aight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel Smite question regarding Cleric / Paladin All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions