How many hands do I need to cast a spell from item?


Rules Questions


How many hands do I need to...

1) Cast a spell from a scroll
2) Cast a spell from a wand
3) Cast a spell from a rod

And what penalties will I have trying to cast it with my character's left hand with strapped buckler holding a weapon in other hand?

How does it actually work?

P. S. In other hand the character wield's an Arcane Duelist's bnded weapon, so he can use it fo somatic components.


Not sure about scrolls, I assume they're similar to wands; for a wand, all you need is to be able to hold the wand and point it at the target(s) when you use the activation action.

In my group, we couldn't find rulings on how Rods work exactly, except that it's mentioned they need to be held. As Metamagic rods usually modify spellcasting rather than being a part of the casting itself, it was ruled you need an open hand in addition to the one holding the Rod most of the time, but sometimes for "Rule of Cool" reasons other things have been allowed (in my group anyway).

Casting a spell with a hand that was holding a buckler deprives you of its AC bonus until the start of your next turn, though.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

1) Depends on the spell. If the spell has somatic components, you need a free hand to perform them (or in your case, the weapon wielding hand). USUALLY (but not always) you need your other hand to hold the scroll while you read it, but this can be overcome with the Caster's Shield or by having your unseen servant unroll and hold the scroll for you.

2) Depends on the spell. If the spell has no somatic component, you need only the hand that holds the wand. If the spell has somatic components, most people play that the hand that waves the wand is also providing those, but check with your DM. Some spells cause an effect to appear in your OTHER hand, so for those you need the hand holding the wand and a free hand for the effect to appear in. (Produce Flame, I'm looking at you)

3) Rods and Staves work approximately like wands.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

How many hands do I need to...

1) Cast a spell from a scroll
2) Cast a spell from a wand
3) Cast a spell from a rod

And what penalties will I have trying to cast it with my character's left hand with strapped buckler holding a weapon in other hand?

How does it actually work?

P. S. In other hand the character wield's an Arcane Duelist's bnded weapon, so he can use it fo somatic components.

You only need the bonded weapon for your own personal spellcasting, not for scrolls, or wands. Wearing the sword is sufficient for that purpose.

As far as Rods go it depends on what kind of rod you're talking about. If it's a Rod that contains spells, you treat it just like you wood a rod or staff. If it's a metamagic rod, you're not casting a spell from it, you're using it to augment your personal casting, which means you need one hand free for the entire turn.

If the hand you are casting with is part of an arm that has a buckler strapped into it. you lose the AC benefit from the buckler until your next turn, just as you would if you were attacking with it.


Ok. i get it about shield bonus to AC when casting from hand with a buckler, but...

Can I take a scroll with my left hand and cast a spell without right hand with bonded weapon?


Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

How many hands do I need to...

1) Cast a spell from a scroll
2) Cast a spell from a wand
3) Cast a spell from a rod

Since you said "cast" in the cases above, I won't address retrieving the items.

Pretty much in all cases you can do 1-3 with one hand. In some cases, you may be able to attach the scroll to the inside of the buckler and not need any hands, though you may still need a free hand to designate or touch targets.

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

How many hands do I need to...

And what penalties will I have trying to cast it with my character's left hand with strapped buckler holding a weapon in other hand?

How does it actually work?

No penalties--unless you used the rod as a mace or club, in which case you take a -1 penalty to attack (along with penalty for fighting with two weapons) and lose the buckler's AC until the start of you next turn.

A case can be made that you lose the buckler's AC when casting from a scroll because of the "final gestures" requirement, which might be considered the same as the somatic components of actually casting a spell (see buckler).

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

How many hands do I need to...

P. S. In other hand the character wield's an Arcane Duelist's bnded weapon, so he can use it fo somatic components.

That would address the case of losing the buckler's AC bonus when using a scroll.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Arcane Bond (Ex) wrote:

At 5th level, an arcane duelist gains the arcane bond ability as a wizard, using a weapon as his bonded item. He may not choose a familiar or other type of bonded item. He may use the hand holding his bonded weapon for somatic components.

Looks like your weapon hand is good for somatic components to me.


I believe the answer is yes, but reading through everything it doesn't seem to say one way or another. I'd say its a GM call.

The relevant text seems to be Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. So the question becomes, are the scrolls the rolled up kind in a scroll case (which can arguably need to be unrolled) or leaflets of paper. Seems a flavor issue to me.

Personally, I'd rule you can cast from a scroll one handed. At least for you, as your using your arcane bond as the focus.

Grand Lodge

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

Ok. i get it about shield bonus to AC when casting from hand with a buckler, but...

Can I take a scroll with my left hand and cast a spell without right hand with bonded weapon?

I'm not sure what you're asking. can you cast a spell from the scroll? yes.


Ok, thanks, guys, but if we have such situation I wonna get further.

Can i make a scroll that will fit ther inside of a buckler (or just strap it on arm), so it would not make me lose the shield bonus to AC?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

There is a special shield, the Caster's Shield for that, but it's a light shield. See if your GM will allow a caster's shield that's a buckler and not a light shield.


LazarX wrote:


As far as Rods go it depends on what kind of rod you're talking about. If it's a Rod that contains spells, you treat it just like you wood a rod or staff. If it's a metamagic rod, you're not casting a spell from it, you're using it to augment your personal casting, which means you need one hand free for the entire turn.

Minor correction. You need the hand free for as long as it takes to cast the spell. 10 minute spell, hand needs to be free for 10 minutes.

Standard action? You can use your move action to then draw a weapon, scroll, potion, whatever.


Thanks a lot!

So, one more question.

Beguiling Rod, or something like this... I need to wield it in hand to take it's advantages, or i just may to touch it with one hand?

I don't think that touching somebody's face with the rod will make your Charisma check better :)

I think, i can play it something like a wielding a cane, but...

Grand Lodge

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

Thanks a lot!

So, one more question.

Beguiling Rod, or something like this... I need to wield it in hand to take it's advantages, or i just may to touch it with one hand?

I don't think that touching somebody's face with the rod will make your Charisma check better :)

I think, i can play it something like a wielding a cane, but...

You have to visually use it, wield it, move it around.. That's what the "eye-catching" part is about.

Is there something you're leading up to with this particular set of questions?


No. I just want my character to effectovly use rods, wands and scroll in battle and in soial situations, and want to know, how does it work.

Becuse I just did nt find a good description of using theese items.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many hands do I need to cast a spell from item? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions