
Eridan |

Improved Familiar
This feat allows you to acquire a powerful familiar, but only when you could normally acquire a new familiar.
Prerequisites: Ability to acquire a new familiar, compatible alignment, sufficiently high level (see below).
You can start with a bounded item and retrain this class feature via retraining rules (see Ultimate Campaign) and learn the 'Familiar' class feature. Then you meet the prerequisites for the imp. familiar feat. You need the familiar class ablility to qualify for imp. familiar.

![]() |

As Eridan says, you don't have to start with a familiar, provided your GM is using the retraining rules, but per the feat you do have to be able to acquire a familiar.
If you chose and still have a bonded item, you can't get a familiar, and so don't meet the prerequisites for the feat.
So if the question is "can I have both a bonded item and a familiar via the feat" the answer is no.
If the question is "can I switch from a bonded item to a familiar once I qualify for the feat?" the answer is ask your GM if you can use the retraining rules. If yes, then sure.

Noir le Lotus |

If you have the charisma and a few feats to spare, look into Eldritch Heritage (Arcane Bloodline).
For two feats you gain a Familiar : )
Nope !!
The arcane bloodline gives you Arcane Bond, that you already gained at level 1 wizard. So you will just be able to add more levels to your bonded item (which changes nothing).
Eldritch Heritage (Arcane Bloodline) works for eveyone but wizards ...

Dekalinder |

Well, what's going to happen is someone get's arcane bond with an item, craft it for half price, then retrains for a familiar? does the bonded item retain the magic proprerty? if so, what's preventing people to bond an item, enchant it for half price, retrain the bond to one other item, enchant it for half price, ecc...?

Lessah |

From pfsrd 20:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type
So, nothing is stopping him - but ... his fancy sword is now just a mundane piece of sharpened stick :)