An Interesting Use of Compel Hostility


Advice


So, tonight in my game I came across an interesting situation. My CL 5 party was against a Remorhaz.

http://paizo.com/PRD/monsters/remorhaz.html

In the surprise round it took out our Alchemist. I'm playing an Oracle/Fighter healtank. On the second round it hit me and succeeded in Swallow Whole. While inside it's stomach I was debating what to do (I had no light weapon on hand.) I succeeded on a nearly impossible Concentration check to cast Compel Hostility, and the Remorhaz failed a will save. My GM ruled that (as I had hoped) the Int 5 creature wouldn't realize that attacking it's own stomach was potentially a bad move, and I burst free from it on the following round because the Remorhaz dealt 29 points of damage to itself on a bite attack (while attempting to attack me, inside it's own stomach.)

A GM may rule differently on this (especially for a higher Int creature,) but for strictly RAW purposes there is no reason compel hostility would not function inside the gullet of a creature.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/c/compel-hostility

Granted, this may go counter to house rules (and the chances of pulling off the Concentration check is minimal) but as a "hail Mary," I think I have discovered another use of the Compel Hostility spell.


First of all, I would be inclined to allow it in the situation, out of sheer coolness.

That said, RAW is doesn't really fly.
Compel hostility require the creature to threaten you. Being in its stomach it cannot normally make bite attacks against you, thus doesn't threat you with it.


I suppose that would depend on how a GM defines "threatened." By RAW, I think you're right in the strict sense of a creature not "threatening" your square. But to look at it in a slightly more abstract fashion, being inside a creature generally means it is about to deal damage to you on it's round. It doesn't need to attack you to generate the automatic damage, but you are still "threatened" by the possible incoming damage.


It's cool, but I wouldn't allow it.

Remember, the village idiot has an int of 4. So you're remorhaz is smarter than our village idiot. Animal intelligence is 2 or less. The remorhaz is by no means a genius, but it's more than smart enough to recognize that biting its own stomach is probably a bad move.

And despite being inside the creature, I would say you can't "see" him attack your allies so the ability doesn't funciton.

That is however just my opinion. I'm not big on the "rule of cool".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / An Interesting Use of Compel Hostility All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.