Random Weird Rule of the Day: Summon Good Monster and Die Hard


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Summon Good Monster

Feat Text:

Quote:

Prerequisite: Good alignment.

Benefit: When casting summon monster, you also gain access to the list of good monsters below. Your righteous determination grants these summoned creatures the Diehard feat. You may still summon creatures from the standard list, but without the Diehard feat.

Rules from the Magic section making the bolded bit useless:

Summon Spell Rules wrote:
A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead.

As written, this Feat doesn't technically make an exception to the usual rules, meaning that the summoned creatures can't actually take advantage of the Feat.

Question for Design Team: "Is Summon Good Monster intended to give summons the ability to stick around as Disabled below 0 hit points with Die Hard instead of disappearing immediately at 0?"

I would assume the answer is yes, but it's an odd bit that might be worth a quick FAQ before it causes issues with people down the line.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Heh. Yes. For there to be ANY point to the Diehard feat in this situation, you kind of have to assume that. So I just have.


Well the faq here: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gh#v5748eaic9qli
Is for another similar case.

So why technically by RAW it doesn't work, RAI seem clear that it is supposed to work.


Huh. I didn't even know that was a thing. I searched the FAQs for something like this before making the thread but didn't think to look in the ACG FAQs.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Random Weird Rule of the Day: Summon Good Monster and Die Hard All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.