can a maneuver master grapple and pin an opponent with a flurry of maneuvers?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

One of my players is intending to do a master of maneuvers, monk archetype for a rpg game this sunday, so i was checking the archetype, and suddenly I got confused about using the flurry of maneuvers.

Would it be possible for the character to use the one of the maneuvers from the flurry of maneuvers to grapple the foe and, with the second maneuver from the flurry, pin it?

Reading the rules I am not sure if the "pin action" is considered another grapple maneuver or only an action that is inside the grapple maneuver, but is not considered a maneuver itself.

Also, when the character attempts the flurry of maneuvers he must declare which maneuvers he is attempting. But in order to pin, the foe must already be grappled, so, having in consideration that the pin action is dependent of the grapple sucess, would he able to declare it simultaneously with the grapple maneuver?

I hope I got myself understandable. . .
Thank you all for the consideration!


Pinning someone is something you may do as part of the check to maintain the grapple, so no, he could not use the bonus maneuver from Flurry to pin the target.

Only the bonus maneuver granted by Flurry of Maneuvers can be used to make the grapple check, though it is ambiguous as to when the bonus maneuver occurs during your full attack.


yes you can.

You can maintain the grapple as a standard action. Now the manuever master can do multiple standard action costing manueveres in a turn.

If CrystalSpellblade was correct greater grapple would have much less use.


No, you can't. Grappling someone, and making the grapple check to maintain the grapple (and pin) are not the same thing. A monster with multiple natural attacks with the grab ability can't grapple and pin during a single full attack either.

Greater Grapple allows you to maintain as a move action.


Pupsocket wrote:

No, you can't. Grappling someone, and making the grapple check to maintain the grapple (and pin) are not the same thing. A monster with multiple natural attacks with the grab ability can't grapple and pin during a single full attack either.

Greater Grapple allows you to maintain as a move action.

You are correct about a monster not being able to. They spent their standard action attacking. To pin you need to spend another standard action or have an ability that the manuever master has that can use standard action manuever as an attack action.

Grand Lodge

Tetori Monk can eventually Pin in one round.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Panchio wrote:
second maneuver from the flurry, pin it?

He can't grapple with his Full Attack melee attacks, but the additional attack(s) from the Flurry of Maneuvers can be used to grapple.

So at higher level when you gain a second maneuver, you can.

You can also with Greater Grapple by doing a Standard grapple and then a move grapple.


CrystalSpellblade wrote:

Pinning someone is something you may do as part of the check to maintain the grapple, so no, he could not use the bonus maneuver from Flurry to pin the target.

Only the bonus maneuver granted by Flurry of Maneuvers can be used to make the grapple check, though it is ambiguous as to when the bonus maneuver occurs during your full attack.

What do you mean only the bonus maneuver can be used?

At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action.

An additional maneuver, meaning he could use one, grapple, then his bonus one to do any of the actions someone can do when they maintain a grapple, like pin, or damage, or move. Is everyone trying to say that making a combat maneuver check to maintain a grapple on your turn isn't a combat maneuver?


Atticus Bleak wrote:


What do you mean only the bonus maneuver can be used?

At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action.

An additional maneuver, meaning he could use one, grapple, then his bonus one to do any of the actions someone can do when they maintain a grapple, like pin, or damage, or move. Is everyone trying to say that making a combat maneuver check to maintain a grapple on your turn isn't a combat maneuver?

Because grappling isn't an attack, it's a standard action.


Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:


What do you mean only the bonus maneuver can be used?

At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action.

An additional maneuver, meaning he could use one, grapple, then his bonus one to do any of the actions someone can do when they maintain a grapple, like pin, or damage, or move. Is everyone trying to say that making a combat maneuver check to maintain a grapple on your turn isn't a combat maneuver?

Because grappling isn't an attack, it's a standard action.

Point Being? The ability lets you make two combat maneuvers in one turn as a full attack action.

Grand Lodge

Grappling is an attack.

Every Combat Maneuver, is an attack.

Some, can only be done as a standard action, but they are still, attacks.

Something gives you a bonus to attack rolls? It applies to grapple checks.

It applies to all Combat Maneuvers.


Allright, "attack" was being used as shorthand for "combat maneuver that can be used in place of an attack". Which grapple isn't. Before level 8, the Maneuver Master cannot make 2 grapple checks during a Flurry of Maneuvers.

I have learned from this thread, though, that the higher-level MM can indeed use his second maneuver to pin a grappled target.


Pupsocket wrote:

Allright, "attack" was being used as shorthand for "combat maneuver that can be used in place of an attack". Which grapple isn't. Before level 8, the Maneuver Master cannot make 2 grapple checks during a Flurry of Maneuvers.

I have learned from this thread, though, that the higher-level MM can indeed use his second maneuver to pin a grappled target.

Where are you getting this information? There is nowhere in the ability that says when using a maneuver in place of an attack, it says that as a Full Attack action, you can make one additional maneuver. As in a flurry of maneuvers. I feel like it would specify if the ability applied to only Sunder, Disarm, and Trip.

Grand Lodge

Well, with Snake Style, and Hamatula Strike, you can get there, a little bit earlier.


Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:


What do you mean only the bonus maneuver can be used?

At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action.

An additional maneuver, meaning he could use one, grapple, then his bonus one to do any of the actions someone can do when they maintain a grapple, like pin, or damage, or move. Is everyone trying to say that making a combat maneuver check to maintain a grapple on your turn isn't a combat maneuver?

Because grappling isn't an attack, it's a standard action.

Point Being? The ability lets you make two combat maneuvers in one turn as a full attack action.

this isnt entirely correct. fom allows you to declair a full attack and stack additional maneuvers. however it doesnt change how maneuvers are applied except for the additional maneuver at the end.

this means at low level the mm monk can FOM and gets one normal attack + one additional maneuver it has no means to double maneuver until lvl 8.


Mojorat wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:


What do you mean only the bonus maneuver can be used?

At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action.

An additional maneuver, meaning he could use one, grapple, then his bonus one to do any of the actions someone can do when they maintain a grapple, like pin, or damage, or move. Is everyone trying to say that making a combat maneuver check to maintain a grapple on your turn isn't a combat maneuver?

Because grappling isn't an attack, it's a standard action.

Point Being? The ability lets you make two combat maneuvers in one turn as a full attack action.

this isnt entirely correct. fom allows you to declair a full attack and stack additional maneuvers. however it doesnt change how maneuvers are applied except for the additional maneuver at the end.

this means at low level the mm monk can FOM and gets one normal attack + one additional maneuver it has no means to double maneuver until lvl 8.

So what you are saying is that the ability, which is called "A mass of maneuvers" will not let you do multiple maneuvers until level 8?

I think I am following your logic, it does say "As Part of a Full attack action" but it also says "An additional maneuver", meaning in addition to the original maneuver that you are claiming is impossible.


Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:

Allright, "attack" was being used as shorthand for "combat maneuver that can be used in place of an attack". Which grapple isn't. Before level 8, the Maneuver Master cannot make 2 grapple checks during a Flurry of Maneuvers.

I have learned from this thread, though, that the higher-level MM can indeed use his second maneuver to pin a grappled target.

Where are you getting this information? There is nowhere in the ability that says when using a maneuver in place of an attack, it says that as a Full Attack action, you can make one additional maneuver. As in a flurry of maneuvers. I feel like it would specify if the ability applied to only Sunder, Disarm, and Trip.

Ah, I think I see our disagreement here. I'm not saying that the bonus maneuver from FOM can't be a grapple. It can.

I'm saying that the regular attack can't be a grapple.


Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:

Allright, "attack" was being used as shorthand for "combat maneuver that can be used in place of an attack". Which grapple isn't. Before level 8, the Maneuver Master cannot make 2 grapple checks during a Flurry of Maneuvers.

I have learned from this thread, though, that the higher-level MM can indeed use his second maneuver to pin a grappled target.

Where are you getting this information? There is nowhere in the ability that says when using a maneuver in place of an attack, it says that as a Full Attack action, you can make one additional maneuver. As in a flurry of maneuvers. I feel like it would specify if the ability applied to only Sunder, Disarm, and Trip.

Ah, I think I see our disagreement here. I'm not saying that the bonus maneuver from FOM can't be a grapple. It can.

I'm saying that the regular attack can't be a grapple.

But what regular attack are you talking about? The ability states that by making your action a full attack action, you get to do an ADDITIONAL maneuver, meaning you make a maneuver, then a second maneuver. If you can only do one maneuver with it, it is hardly a flurry of maneuvers.

Grand Lodge

You do get an additional Maneuver, and that additional Maneuver, can be any Maneuver.

The attacks before that additional Maneuver, must be attacks that can be done as part of a Full Attack, and not a Standard Action.

So, the only Maneuvers, that can be done during those initial attacks, are Disarm, Sunder, or Trip.


Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:

Allright, "attack" was being used as shorthand for "combat maneuver that can be used in place of an attack". Which grapple isn't. Before level 8, the Maneuver Master cannot make 2 grapple checks during a Flurry of Maneuvers.

I have learned from this thread, though, that the higher-level MM can indeed use his second maneuver to pin a grappled target.

Where are you getting this information? There is nowhere in the ability that says when using a maneuver in place of an attack, it says that as a Full Attack action, you can make one additional maneuver. As in a flurry of maneuvers. I feel like it would specify if the ability applied to only Sunder, Disarm, and Trip.

Ah, I think I see our disagreement here. I'm not saying that the bonus maneuver from FOM can't be a grapple. It can.

I'm saying that the regular attack can't be a grapple.

But what regular attack are you talking about? The ability states that by making your action a full attack action, you get to do an ADDITIONAL maneuver, meaning you make a maneuver, then a second maneuver. If you can only do one maneuver with it, it is hardly a flurry of maneuvers.

A grapple maneuver is not a full attack. A full attack is a specific thing. A first level maneuver master can make one attack and one maneuver during a flurry of maneuvers. The attack can be replaced by any maneuver that can replace an attack (disarm, trip, etc.) but not a grapple maneuver. Normally a grapple maneuver is a standard action.


Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:
Pupsocket wrote:

Allright, "attack" was being used as shorthand for "combat maneuver that can be used in place of an attack". Which grapple isn't. Before level 8, the Maneuver Master cannot make 2 grapple checks during a Flurry of Maneuvers.

I have learned from this thread, though, that the higher-level MM can indeed use his second maneuver to pin a grappled target.

Where are you getting this information? There is nowhere in the ability that says when using a maneuver in place of an attack, it says that as a Full Attack action, you can make one additional maneuver. As in a flurry of maneuvers. I feel like it would specify if the ability applied to only Sunder, Disarm, and Trip.

Ah, I think I see our disagreement here. I'm not saying that the bonus maneuver from FOM can't be a grapple. It can.

I'm saying that the regular attack can't be a grapple.

But what regular attack are you talking about? The ability states that by making your action a full attack action, you get to do an ADDITIONAL maneuver, meaning you make a maneuver, then a second maneuver. If you can only do one maneuver with it, it is hardly a flurry of maneuvers.

The Bonus Maneuver is the only maneuver in your Full-Attack Action that can use the Standard Action. A level 1 monk could full-attack, do 1 unarmed strike and use his bonus maneuver to grapple. He could not grapple, then grapple again as only the bonus maneuver is allowed to be any maneuver, regardless is it takes the place of an attack or standard action.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Pupsocket wrote:
Atticus Bleak wrote:
Where are you getting this information?
I'm saying that the regular attack can't be a grapple.

But it could be a Sunder/Trip/Disarm.


And if you have the grab ability? Can you then do your attack, grab as part of the attack, and pin as a maneuver master?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

PeteZero wrote:
And if you have the grab ability? Can you then do your attack, grab as part of the attack, and pin as a maneuver master?

I can't see why not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / can a maneuver master grapple and pin an opponent with a flurry of maneuvers? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.