Filling out a chronicle sheet that hasn't been "applied"


Pathfinder Society

2/5

Some friends and I just finished "Burnt Offerings" from RotR, but our PFS characters are still level one.

From what I understand, I can "apply" the chronicle sheet to my character once I reach level 3, but I'm not sure on the specifics as to how that works.

For example, "Starting Experience". Do I cross this out? Or do I put "9"(the XP I will be at when I apply it)?

Is there anything else special I need to do for a chronicle sheet that I can't use yet?

Shadow Lodge

You actually might not be at xp 9 when you get the chronicle if you apply modules right before leveling, I suggest that you do not fill it out, but possibly put on the sheet "Hold until Level 3" this will additionally allow for explaining why the chronicles are not in order by date.

2/5

That sounds reasonable. Thanks!

2/5

I would just make sure you are around a GM when you fill it out as a "witness". Then you can make sure you don't miss anything.

2/5

allenacity wrote:
I would just make sure you are around a GM when you fill it out as a "witness". Then you can make sure you don't miss anything.

That's fair. My main concern was how I was supposed to fill it out. Chronicle sheets seem to be fairly straightforward, A(current) + B(new) = C(new total). However, in the case of a suspended chronicle sheet it's more like a consumable that sits there until you can use it.

5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

Yep, just leave everything you don't know yet (all starting values and the chronicle number) blank and put something like "hold until level 3" or "apply at level 3" on the top so you know it's a held chronicle.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Would you do the same for day job checks?

Shadow Lodge

Azouth wrote:
Would you do the same for day job checks?

Anytime that you would be receiving a chronicle sheet that does not apply immediately, you get no dayjob


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Where does it say that?

Shadow Lodge

Azouth wrote:
Where does it say that?

Pregens don't get day jobs, and if you are playing an AP in campaign mode, you would not get a day job either because you would not be playing your character, these are the only times which you would have a chronicle that does not apply right away.

5/5

Dylos wrote:
Azouth wrote:
Where does it say that?
Pregens don't get day jobs...

Umm, and where did you get that? I see nothing in the Guide that indicates pregens are ineligible for a Day Job roll. Granted, most of them don't have an applicable skill, so it's moot, but some of the newer ones do...

Shadow Lodge

Sniggevert wrote:
Dylos wrote:
Azouth wrote:
Where does it say that?
Pregens don't get day jobs...
Umm, and where did you get that? I see nothing in the Guide that indicates pregens are ineligible for a Day Job roll. Granted, most of them don't have an applicable skill, so it's moot, but some of the newer ones do...

Sorry, the Pregen Bard can get a dayjob check, and maybe one or two others.

Additionally, as the OP was asking about a sanctioned AP, this line is relevant.

Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play pg 30 wrote:
There are no Day Job checks when playing a sanctioned module or Adventure Path.

So basically, when getting a chronicle that would not apply immediately, there would be 1 of 3 cases, 1. Playing a higher level pregen, and most pregens do not have day jobs. 2. GMing, Gms are not allowed day jobs without a specific boon. 3. Campaign mode APs or Modules, which as stated above get no day job rolls.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

What I mean is lets say I play a Dragon's Demand, in campaign mode, or We be Goblins one and too. To a new character they apply the first and are 1st and can't apply the second as it is 2-4. I then get the Dragon's Demand sheet, for 3 xp, now it is 2nd and apply the we be goblins too. Do I now get a day job check? Can any DM mark off on the day Job?

Shadow Lodge

Azouth wrote:
What I mean is lets say I play a Dragon's Demand, in campaign mode, or We be Goblins one and too. To a new character they apply the first and are 1st and can't apply the second as it is 2-4. I then get the Dragon's Demand sheet, for 3 xp, now it is 2nd and apply the we be goblins too. Do I now get a day job check? Can any DM mark off on the day Job?

Please refer to the quote on page 30.

There are no Day Job checks when playing a sanctioned module or Adventure Path.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

What about the We be goblins too? It is neither. I was also playing the alchemist (mogmurch) if that is any difference.

Shadow Lodge

Azouth wrote:
What about the We be goblins too? It is neither. I was also playing the alchemist (mogmurch) if that is any difference.

We be Goblins (Too) is a (Free RPG day) Module.

5/5

Dylos wrote:
Azouth wrote:
What about the We be goblins too? It is neither. I was also playing the alchemist (mogmurch) if that is any difference.
We be Goblins is a Module.

Yeah, sorry for above I was talking overall for scenario pregens.

AP's and modules do not grant day job rolls regardless of how credit is gained.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Dylos wrote:
Azouth wrote:
What I mean is lets say I play a Dragon's Demand, in campaign mode, or We be Goblins one and too. To a new character they apply the first and are 1st and can't apply the second as it is 2-4. I then get the Dragon's Demand sheet, for 3 xp, now it is 2nd and apply the we be goblins too. Do I now get a day job check? Can any DM mark off on the day Job?

Please refer to the quote on page 30.

There are no Day Job checks when playing a sanctioned module or Adventure Path.

You have an old copy of the guide. That language was removed in the most recent version, which was released months ago.

Shadow Lodge

Jeff Merola wrote:
Dylos wrote:
Azouth wrote:
What I mean is lets say I play a Dragon's Demand, in campaign mode, or We be Goblins one and too. To a new character they apply the first and are 1st and can't apply the second as it is 2-4. I then get the Dragon's Demand sheet, for 3 xp, now it is 2nd and apply the we be goblins too. Do I now get a day job check? Can any DM mark off on the day Job?

Please refer to the quote on page 30.

There are no Day Job checks when playing a sanctioned module or Adventure Path.

You have an old copy of the guide. That language was removed in the most recent version, which was released months ago.

You are correct, I have neglected to update my guide on my PC. You would be allowed a day job in we be goblins if the goblin had a skill that qualifies for a day job.

But you would still not be allowed a day job for any campaign mode chronicles.

5/5

Jeff Merola wrote:
Dylos wrote:
Azouth wrote:
What I mean is lets say I play a Dragon's Demand, in campaign mode, or We be Goblins one and too. To a new character they apply the first and are 1st and can't apply the second as it is 2-4. I then get the Dragon's Demand sheet, for 3 xp, now it is 2nd and apply the we be goblins too. Do I now get a day job check? Can any DM mark off on the day Job?

Please refer to the quote on page 30.

There are no Day Job checks when playing a sanctioned module or Adventure Path.

You have an old copy of the guide. That language was removed in the most recent version, which was released months ago.

Wow, I missed that change for Season 5 in the change log. OK.

So, when you play if the pregen you are playing can make a day job, you can get a day job fora module/AP section now. Nice.

To Azouth: This should be rolled at the table when the game is played, and the GM running the table would have marked it on the chronicle.

5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

There's another point to this:

Guide to Organized Play wrote:

Any equipment that’s listed on the pregenerated character sheet may only be sold to clear conditions such as

death during the play of a sanctioned event, and any remaining gold does not carry over at the end of the adventure.

The day job is basically gold the individual pregen generated, as is gold gained from selling the pregen's gear. So one might argue that this gold won't carry over to the character the chronicle is applied to.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Andreas Forster wrote:

There's another point to this:

Guide to Organized Play wrote:
Any equipment that’s listed on the pregenerated character sheet may only be sold to clear conditions such as death during the play of a sanctioned event, and any remaining gold does not carry over at the end of the adventure.
The day job is basically gold the individual pregen generated, as is gold gained from selling the pregen's gear. So one might argue that this gold won't carry over to the character the chronicle is applied to.

Read the whole quote you posted. That only applies to gold generated by selling the pregen's equipment to clear conditions, like death, on the pregen.

It should not be applied to gold generated during the adventure (gold from the scenario/module), nor, if possible, should it be applied to gold generated by a day job check.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Filling out a chronicle sheet that hasn't been "applied" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.