| Better_with_Bacon |
PRD wrote:
BLOOD TRANSCRIPTION
School divination [evil]; Level alchemist 2, magus 2, wizard 2, witch 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range touch
Target one dead spellcaster
Duration 24 hours
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
By consuming 1 pint of blood from a spellcaster killed within the last 24 hours, you can attempt to learn a spell that spellcaster knew. Select one spell available to the dead spellcaster (this must be a spell on your spell list); you gain the knowledge of this spell for 24 hours. During this time, you may write it down (or teach it to your familiar, if you are a witch) using the normal rules for copying a spell from another source. Once you have learned it, you may prepare the spell normally.
My question is: Could someone use it on a creature that has a spell-like ability that is on the caster's class list?
Say my Magus is fighting a greater Barghest, can I use this spell to leech out Dimension Door from its corpse?
(Also, can I scribe a spell into my spellbook even if I can't cast it yet?)
Very Respectfully,
--Bacon
| VRMH |
Better_with_Bacon wrote:
Could someone use it on a creature that has a spell-like ability that is on the caster's class list?
No, the ability is not the spell.
Ask your GM nicely though, I doubt it's game-breaking to allow this.Quote:
can I scribe a spell into my spellbook even if I can't cast it yet?
Yes.
| Better_with_Bacon |
This is the only passage I can see that references it:
PRD wrote:
At the end of the hour, he must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level). A wizard who has specialized in a school of spells gains a +2 bonus on the Spellcraft check if the new spell is from his specialty school. If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into his spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.
So high level spells could be difficult to transcribe properly, but if I can, I would need to have some time to do it. (1 hour per spell level) As long as it's within the 24 hours of the spell's duration
Very Respectfully,
--Bacon