Shapeshifting Mastery


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Player Companion: Mythic Origins wrote:


Shapeshifting Mastery (Ex)
Your ability to magically adopt other forms is unparalleled, and you can expertly translate your arcane might into brawn. You add half your tier to the caster level of spells or extracts from the polymorph subschool. While under the effects of a spell or extract of the polymorph subschool, you can use your caster level instead of your base attack bonus when making natural attacks that rely on your new form.

Would you use your normal Caster Level or the one you have for the polymorph spell (including the 1/2 mystic tier bonus and other bonuses)?


*casts raise thread*

I'd also like to know the answer to this. Couldn't find it answered anywhere else.


Just parsing the language, you add half your tier to the caster level of the spells/extracts, it does not actually alter your caster level. Then, you can use YOUR caster level instead of your BAB, not the caster level of the spell.


What would happen if yo took the mage's tattoo(transmutation) feat, or an arcanist's potent magic to raise CL?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Based on how the rest of the game works, I'm pretty certain you would use the caster level of the polymorph spell.

For example, if you took Spell Perfection, Spell Specialization, Varisian Tattoo, Magical Lineage, Lore Seeker, and got an orange prism ioun stone, you would end up with this guy.


There's no such thing as your general caster level. You have a caster level for each and every single spell or SLA, they just usually happen to be the same.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Menacing Shade of mauve wrote:

There's no such thing as your general caster level. You have a caster level for each and every single spell or SLA, they just usually happen to be the same.

This mirrors my thoughts on the matter as well.


Menacing Shade of mauve wrote:

There's no such thing as your general caster level.

Then what are the pre-requisites for crafting feats asking for?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

For the highest caster level your spell(s) possess?


Closest thing to a definition of Caster Level, from the CRB:

"A spell's power often depends on its caster level, which for most spellcasting characters is equal to her class level in the class she's using to cast the spell."


As far a item creation feats go I would assume that you need a caster level for the feat that would allow you to craft any item the feat allows. Say you want to forge ring (CL 7 requirement) and you're a 6th level wizard. If you augment your CL for a specialized spell (say shield of faith placing your CL for casting the spell at 8). I think you'd qualify to use the feat only to create rings of protection. I would assume its similar to someone with 13 strength taking power attack and then having their strength drop to 12 (via aging). You can have the feat but you can't use it until you buff your strength.

Under the definition that the rules give us increasing the CL of a polymorph spell should increase the BAB much like raising the CL of a fireball raises the damage dice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shapeshifting Mastery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions