
QwenofWands |

Having an disagreement on the Floating Disk. My wizard went to use it as grill to cook a dear on. I say 1) the spell says nothing about HP or damage causing it to wink out and 2) that because it is made of force heat will not penetrate it. My GM when with the later and now has bulked twice when I tried to use the disk as a force object.
And I would be OK with it just being a GM ruling except this GM explicitly states that rules once made are how things works and has even given xp for keeping track referring to them.

mimimi |
technically speaking, it floats above the ground at 3 feet. the spell reads
You create a slightly concave, circular plane of force that follows you about and carries loads for you. The disk is 3 feet in diameter and 1 inch deep at its center. It can hold 100 pounds of weight per caster level. If used to transport a liquid, its capacity is 2 gallons. The disk floats approximately 3 feet above the ground at all times and remains level. It floats along horizontally within spell range and will accompany you at a rate of no more than your normal speed each round. If not otherwise directed, it maintains a constant interval of 5 feet between itself and you. The disk winks out of existence when the spell duration expires. The disk also winks out if you move beyond its range or try to take the disk more than 3 feet away from the surface beneath it. When the disk winks out, whatever it was supporting falls to the surface beneath it.
so if you build a fire underneath it, it will be raised 3 feet above the fire and wont cook efficently
also with force, RAW states
Force: Spells with the force descriptor create or manipulate magical force. Force spells affect incorporeal creatures normally (as if they were corporeal creatures) (ultimate magic)

![]() |

Having an disagreement on the Floating Disk. My wizard went to use it as grill to cook a dear on. I say 1) the spell says nothing about HP or damage causing it to wink out and 2) that because it is made of force heat will not penetrate it. My GM when with the later and now has bulked twice when I tried to use the disk as a force object.
And I would be OK with it just being a GM ruling except this GM explicitly states that rules once made are how things works and has even given xp for keeping track referring to them.
Well, the disc floats approximately 3 feet off the ground so you'd need a decent sized fire under it ... but I guess if you're trying to cook a deer you'd need that anyway.
There's nothing in the rules that says force effects aren't penetrated by heat, and nothing that specifically says they are. So you're pretty much in GM ruling territory here either way.
I don't personally see anything particularly game breaking about letting a floating disc conduct heat, although it's something you'll want to keep in mind if you try to float one over lava or such. Might not want to use one on your next trip to the elemental plane of fire. Also, you're losing out on those neat grill marks you'd get from a real grill.
Using a floating disc to grill a deer is certainly an original use of the spell.

QwenofWands |

although it's something you'll want to keep in mind if you try to float one over lava or such.
This is what kinda happened a few levels later. Floor on fire. Archer shot and anchored a rope on the opposite wall out of the area of effect. Now, given that the disk stays with me, and I can pull myself along the rope thus giving the disk motion while on top of it I can in three trips ferry the party over the floor (according to the cooking ruling) heat free. Except now the disk does nothing about the heat.
I believe I just broke his encounter and he doesn't want to pay the reward he offers if we do so.

![]() |

Sounds like your GM needs an enema. It either does or doesn't conduct heat. I would say this: it is a force object which is immune to normal heat (as all magic force objects are). It would not cook a deer with a fire under it, but would hold 2 gallons of oil/wood/fuel and cook the deer fine without winking if you put the deer on say a 5 foot spit. If you can carry a fire elemental on it, you can carry a normal fire on it without winking.
As for the "floor travelling" - if the GM is that intent on burning up the whole party... well... maybe he shouldn't have sent a floor to do it? (I'd just endless drought it out, but that is me.)
(ps. carrying 2 gallons of oil on this and doing a move-by, cancelling it, can cause a huge area to be affected by a flaming pool of oil, even if the GM makes you light it afterwards)

![]() |

So he ruled that you couldn't cook a deer on it because it didn't conduct heat, then tried to reverse that when you used it as protection against fire? Or he ruled that the disk wouldn't be damaged by fire and then had it dump you on the fire floor?
Either way:
1) Consistency in rulings is important but occasionally a GM will have to reverse a ruling because of unforeseen consequences. For example, if he let you use the disk as a grill because he thought it would be fun, then realized it added unintended power to the spell. The GM should be honest and mature about the reversal and the reasons for it, and the players should be understanding - especially if the original ruling was to their benefit.
2) The PCs will sometimes come up with creative ways to overcome encounters, and a GM needs to both accept and prepare for that. If the floor were a spiked pit instead of fire, there would be no question of whether the disk would be able to let you safely bypass it.
3) Even if the disk didn't disappear or heat up, it would have been reasonable to subject the PCs to a bit of damage (possibly nonlethal) from the hot air you're moving through (no more than 3ft above a flaming surface, maybe less if there's a ceiling) or from smoke. See Heat Dangers, or the Forest Fire rules.
I believe I just broke his encounter and he doesn't want to pay the reward he offers if we do so.
Why does the GM offer a reward for breaking an encounter (assuming this is aside from the normal XP for defeating the challenge)? If this is his policy he should be prepared to pay up for creative solutions, because players should be expected to occasionally come up with creative solutions (see 2 above).

Tormsskull |

I wouldn't allow a character to mount a floating disk and then move around on it. That is not the purpose of the spell. The spell is used to carry things.
It also is not a Floating Disk of Fire Protection. It shouldn't confer any ability to prevent fire damage.
I'd allow the cooking of the deer, that sounds creative and within the scope of the spell.

![]() |
My GM when with the later and now has bulked twice when I tried to use the disk as a force object.
What exactly do you mean by "use the disk". The floating disk just sits horizontally 3 feet above the surface. It's not positioned to be used as a shield, so what "use" did you try to pull off?