Another archetype question


Rules Questions


So I've been batting this PFS character idea around in my head, but am coming up with a bit of a roadblock. I am thinking of doing a magus with the Kapenia Dancer archetype, but would also like to add in the Hexcaster archetype as well.

I've looked at the rules for combining archetypes and understand that if both archetypes replace or change a class ability, they can't be taken together. My question comes up from the fact that both archetypes give addition options to the magus arcana ability, granting new options for the magus to take.

Is that enough of a change to the ability to make it illegal to use both archetypes, or since it is an optional change it's okay?

Shadow Lodge

I think that it is enough to make it an invalid combination, because both abilities are technically "modified", so no for a PFS character, sorry. However, almost any GM that I know would allow such a character in any home game.


Hmmmm, well dang.


Agreed with ArmouredMonk13: For PFS, no; for probably any home game, I'd allow it as a GM.


personally my interpretation is that you cannot trade out the same feature twice, and if they invalidate a feature its invalid as well.

Choice and options are not forbidden this way.

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fz#v5748eaic9qnl

the famous monk example.

The extra arcana options do not exclude each other, you can obviously not use this to gain 2 abilities for trading in only 1 arcana.


That's kinda where I'm at. I can see it working either way which is why I'm getting confused. Might just have to scrap the idea and go with something else, unless there's another way to get a more definitive answer.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another archetype question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions