Delivering a touch attack with a familiar


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

How does the delivery work? It says that "If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would." Does that mean all bonuses to attack instead of the familiars bonuses? Can it use it's natural attacks to discharge the spell? Does it get a free touch attack as part of casting the spell?
Thanks.


As long as the familiar is within 5 ft of the caster, the caster can "give" the spell to the familiar. The familiar can then deliver the touch attack(by holding the charge, as opposed to delivering it immediately).
Your wording/sentence is a little odd, but I think what you're asking is: Does "just as the master would" = using the caster's attack bonuses, and the answer is no.
The familiar uses its own attack numbers (BAB + str or dex, depending on weapon finesse + misc bonuses)
The familiar can use a touch attack roll, OR its natural attacks to inflict the touch spell. In most cases it is more advantageous to just make a simple touch attack roll because it is easier to hit.
Under the text for delivering touch spells it states that the next person/creature to touch the caster(or in this case, the familiar with the held touch spell) will inadvertently trigger the spell's release. The familiar's natural attacks do indeed touch the target, thus they would do normal damage + release the held spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Delivering a touch attack with a familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions