Anchoring on limbs?


Rules Questions


I have a question about called shots and anchoring.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-weapons/magic-weapon-special-abil ities/anchoring

My question is this, can you use called shots to immobilize an opponents limbs? It says that anchoring pins the target in place and prevents them from moving, but if the target is an arm, can a player use it to pin an opponents arm in space? I ask because, in a recent story I ran, the players got to the boss, and two players had anchoring weapons. In one round, they used called shots to pin both of the boss's arms. The target was now essentially immobile, and they used more daggers of anchoring to immobilize him further. So, the question I would like to ask is: is this acceptable? Does a rule exist that prevents this? Should I just make a general ruling against having more than one anchoring weapon in the party? If this is allowed, let this be a cautionary tale for any GMs whose players use anchoring.


They were misusing the ability.

They basically were trying to get the paralyzed effect from something that specifically says the target is not paralyzed (nor even entangled).

Certainly, the target cannot move from his square, but he is otherwise free to act however he wants within that square.

(pretty sure called shots don't exist in pathfinder)


Called Shots were an option ruleset introduced in Ultimate Combat. But it doesn't matter what body part you hit them in, the anchoring effect affects the creature generally, not specific body parts. So if they hit him in the arm, that anchors the whole creature normally but they aren't paralyzed or suffer any other debilitation other than not being able to move from their spot.

To illustrate further, if you made a called shot against someone's arm, they still suffer general HP damage, they don't have separate HP pools for each possible body part to target. They suffer specific penalties outlined in the Called Shots section (ie. eye to penalize perception checks/blind, hand to penalize attack rolls/disarm, etc), but that doesn't mean that more generalized weapon effects (like anchoring) affect that specific body part as well; you're still hitting a single creature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Anchoring on limbs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.