Splash weapons and bombs


Rules Questions


Are there any official answers (RAW) on following questions regarding throwing weapons, splash weapons, and bombs?

• Is the move action to retrieve an item included in the full-round action called "prepare to throw a splash weapon"? If not, does retrieving the item provoke an attack of opportunity?
• Is the ranged attack (grid intersection) or ranged touch attack (targeted) to throw a splash weapon a separate (usually standard) action?
• Fuse Grenade (Ultimate Equipment): Why is it a move action to light a fuse grenade and not a full-round action (default lighting time) or a standard action (tinderwig)? What happens if the grenade hits but doesn’t explode in the same round it was thrown?
• What are the critical threat range and critical multiplier of a splash weapon, if any?
• What are the critical threat range and critical multiplier of a bomb?

Thanx alot for your input!


Can't help you out on all your questions but...
yes it is a standard action to throw any splash weapon regardless if its at a grid intersection or target.
The critical threat range off all splash weapons including bombs is 20 at a x2 multiplyer. As far as bombs go only the first d6 is multiplied. So if you are a 5th level alchemist and you score a critical your damage would be 1d6x2+2d6+int mod+splash not 3d6x2+int mod+splash.


That helps me out. Thanx.


First off, it's not a standard action to throw a splash weapon. It's an attack; if you have an acid flask in each hand, you can totally use two-weapon fighting or Rapid Shot to throw both.

Second, throwing a Bomb is a standard action, and that standard action includes drawing and preparing the Bomb.

Third, you do realize that "prepare to throw splash weapon" is not used with Bombs, Alchemist Fire, Acid Flasks and so on, right?

Dark Archive

Can you apply 6th level spell to a bomb called greater naming bullet? Does it affect all targets in explosion or just primary? Even if all of them meet the naming?


An attack is a standard action.

And yes. Named Bullet and Greater Named Bullet can be used on ANY thrown weapon, including bombs. I've always played with it only affecting the primary target because the wording of the spell keeps referring to "selected creature".


MotherGoose wrote:
An attack is a standard action.

Attack of Opportunity. Target of Opportunity (feat). The attack action is not the only way to make an attack.

MotherGoose wrote:
And yes. Named Bullet and Greater Named Bullet can be used on ANY thrown weapon, including bombs.

I agree with your reasoning, but not your conclusion. The problem with bombs is, they don't actually exist until they're thrown. People on this board have reached the same conclusion for other ways of enhancing bombs.

MotherGoose wrote:
I've always played with it only affecting the primary target because the wording of the spell keeps referring to "selected creature".

Completely agree.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Splash weapons and bombs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.