Doea a nat 20 confirm a crit?


Rules Questions


So for sake of argument your first roll is a Nat 20 so you hit. What I need to know is if a Nat 20 confirms on the 2nd roll? My thought is that it does since to confirm you make another att roll and Nat 20's confirm hits on att rolls.

Grand Lodge

Yes.

Liberty's Edge

Yeah, based off of the PRD (http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html) we can see that confirming on a critical hit requires that the 'confirm' hits.

Earlier in the same document, it also says that a 'natural' 20 is always a hit.

I would say that RAW states that YES, two 20's in a row would confirm.


Yes, natural 20s will confirm a critical hit. A natural 20 is an auto hit no matter what your targets AC is, though there are things in the game to negate natural 20s. To confirm a critical hit you must hit your opponent again by beating his AC. Since 20s hit regardless of AC, it confirms. However, this doesn't apply to critical threats. If you're using a sword with a critical range of 19-20, rolling a 19 does not confirm an automatic hit like a 20 would.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We have a house rule that states if you roll a natural 20, then roll to confirm and roll another natural 20, you get to roll a third time. If you roll a natural 20 on that third roll, that's it: Autokill, regardless of hit points,Mac, etc.

In three years, it hasn't actually happened yet. But we all hope to see it.


AC. Not 'Mac', whatever that is...

Sczarni

I'm sure that was an actual rule in 3.0? We had that rule kill 3 different high lvl monsters, two of which were meant to run away from...

it's also killed two pcs.


Aeris Fallstar wrote:

We have a house rule that states if you roll a natural 20, then roll to confirm and roll another natural 20, you get to roll a third time. If you roll a natural 20 on that third roll, that's it: Autokill, regardless of hit points,Mac, etc.

In three years, it hasn't actually happened yet. But we all hope to see it.

My group uses that too, and I had a running streak of missing 5 or so attacks no matter how good my to hit was, but I would death blow the targets after that. It became a running joke in the game that I was a "head hunter" because of this.


lantzkev wrote:

I'm sure that was an actual rule in 3.0? We had that rule kill 3 different high lvl monsters, two of which were meant to run away from...

it's also killed two pcs.

I'm fairly certain that rule fell by the wayside with ADnD. We still use it though, killed a PC the other night with it.


On the origonal question the rulew on confirmation rolls refer to them as an attack roll. Ergo all rules aboit 20s or 1 still apply.


Nat 20s do not always confirm critical hits. There are several abilities, such as preserve organs (alchemist) and fortification (armor enchant) that can negate critical hits. Even if you roll 20 to confirm, if they roll less than their protection, they've effectively blocked your 20.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

that's not the scope of the question mapleswitch or an answer to the question.

The crit is still confirmed always on a nat 20.

Immunity or potential immunity is irrelevant to the conversation.


BigDTBone wrote:
lantzkev wrote:

I'm sure that was an actual rule in 3.0? We had that rule kill 3 different high lvl monsters, two of which were meant to run away from...

it's also killed two pcs.

I'm fairly certain that rule fell by the wayside with ADnD. We still use it though, killed a PC the other night with it.

It was an optional alternative rule in 3.0 or 3.5 (or both), like the massive damage rule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Doea a nat 20 confirm a crit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions