Scar Hex Line of Sight / Effect still required?


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ran into situation. Witch with Scar hex on party member. Does Scar count for having line of sight/effect even when I don't have line of sight or effect? Such as if my ally is inside building and I am outside building?

Spoiler:
Scar (Su): This hex curses a single target touched with horrible scars of the witch's choosing, whether something as simple as a single letter on the target's forehead or blotchy, burnlike scars on his body. The target may make a Will save to resist this hex. These scars do not interfere with the target's senses or prevent it from using abilities, but may affect social interactions. The witch can user her hexes on the scarred target at a range of up to 1 mile, and she is considered to have a body part from the target for the purpose of scrying and similar divination spells. They persist through disguises and shapechanging. The witch can withdraw this hex from a target as a move action at any range. The number of supernatural scars the witch can maintain at once is equal to her Intelligence bonus; once she reaches this limit, she must remove the scar from a current victim in order to mark another. Effects that remove curses can remove the scar.

FAQ Response here

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

pianopraze wrote:
Such as if my ally is inside building and I am outside building?

Interesting, it doesn't say directly that you have line of effect and line of sight to your target. I'd say you have line of effect, but not line of sight if you can't see them.

This becomes a problem, if you take Split Hex. I'd say you can't split it to another target 30 ft away if you don't have both line of effect and line of sight to the split target.

This is definitely something that will have table variance. I could easily see a GM saying you still need line of effect and sight to effect the scarred ally. In effect having the Scar hex only extend the range beyond 30 ft or whatever limited range you have on the hex you want to use.


James Risner wrote:
pianopraze wrote:
Such as if my ally is inside building and I am outside building?
This is definitely something that will have table variance. I could easily see a GM saying you still need line of effect and sight to effect the scarred ally. In effect having the Scar hex only extend the range beyond 30 ft or whatever limited range you have on the hex you want to use.

It seems to me by the intent of the hex it allows you to affect the Scarred individual even if you can't normally see/effect them. This is why I'm ask for a FAQ as I can also see possible "table variance" by different GMs.

I think RAI it means you can affect without line of effect/sight but RAW it could be taken that you can not affect them unless you can see/effect them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scar Hex Line of Sight / Effect still required? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions