
![]() |

Ok so I have been having this conversation with my GM and he wants some forum opinions so allow me to present the arguments.
Side 1: Dispel Magic can counter spell like abilities.
Arguments:
1.Spell Like abilities are dispelable. Dispel Magic, when used to counter spell is a targeted dispel (targets the caster). And thus does not fall under the general rule of not being able to counter spell-like abilities.
2.This idea is supported in 3.5 in the rules of the game blog. Even though the 3.5 spell says it can't.
3. Dispel magic as a spell like ability works the same way, otherwise it can't duplicate the spell.
Side 2: Dispel Magic cannot counter spell like abilities.
Arguments:
1.Both the spell and the magic chapter say that spell-like abilities cannot be countered. There is no exception.
2. Paizo has not said otherwise or an anyway duplicated the blog that WotC put out.
Thats the basics. Below are supporting documents. and I will clarify or updated as I can to help.
Dispel Magic.
Magic section.
WotC Rules of the Game: Spell Like Abilities.

SlimGauge |

Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled.
You can't counter-spell a SLA as it is being cast, but you can dispel it AFTER it has been cast.

Cheapy |

Charender |

Yeah, it says explicitly in the spell description that you can't counter-spell SLAs. I'm not sure where the confusion is coming from.
The early versions of CRB had an errata. One place said that SLA could be countered, another place said they could not. That combined with Pathfinder changing SLA to work more like spells implied that Paizo wanted to make SLAs able to be countered.

Kobold Catgirl |

Does the alchemist's dispelling bomb count as a spell-like ability, or is it treated like a spell?
Dispelling Bomb: When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have it dispel magic effects instead of deal damage. Creatures that take a direct hit from a dispelling bomb are subject to a targeted dispel magic spell, using the alchemist's level as the caster level. This cannot be used to target a specific spell effect.
This seems to indicate it's the spell for all intents and purposes.
The reason I ask is in the event of a ring of counterspelling.