Mighty Summons (Mythic Path ability)


Rules Questions


.
RAW:

Mighty Summons (Su):Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains DR 5/epic for the duration of the summoning. If you cast a summon spell to summon more than one creature, you summon one additional creature of the same type. If you cast a summon spell to summon just one creature, you can expend one use of mythic power to give it the agile or savage mythic simple template for the duration of the summoning.

I have both a Master Summoner and a Dragon Disciple each of whom are using the Eldritch Heritage feats to gain the Abyssal Bloodline power Added Summonings...

Added Summonings (Su): At 15th level, whenever you summon a creature with the demon subtype or the fiendish template using a summon monster spell, you summon one additional creature of the same kind.

In your opinion would these abilities stack? What if, initially, you were only summoning one creature - would Added Summonings trigger and then Mighty Summons in response?

Now getting the obligatory Summoners are overpowered/Summoning is overpowered rap out of the way, it would appear that of all the classes, Summoners and their ilk benefit the least from the Mythic ruleset. I've only been able to find a handful of powers that address them at all...


Yes, they would stack. Casting Added Summonings summons two creatures, and Mighty Summons would add another.

Alternately, Mighty Summons could be used to summon an agile or savage creature, and Added Summons would summon another creature, though without the template (though I'm not certain about that last part).

Generally, you decide the order in which your abilities resolve.


Ignore me reading comprehensio. Failure.


I (mostly) agree with blahpers. With the exception of summoning a monster with agile/savage and getting a second creature through a different ability. It specifically says in the mythic ability that you can only grant that template to the summoned creature if you summon only one.


Isil-zha wrote:
I (mostly) agree with blahpers. With the exception of summoning a monster with agile/savage and getting a second creature through a different ability. It specifically says in the mythic ability that you can only grant that template to the summoned creature if you summon only one.

As a follow up - Added Summonings specifically states 'using a Summon Monster spell'... which RAW would seem to indicate the Summoner's Summon Monster SLA wouldn't benefit from this ability even if their actual spellcasting did. Sound right, or am I being too narrow in my interpretation?


That sounds correct, but this is one of those "how spell-like is a spell-like ability?" situations. About X0% of the time, an SLA is treated just like a spell, but those little differences keep coming up. Strictly RAW, I'd say you couldn't use it with the SLA. If they had added the spells to the summoner's spell list and used a class feature to grant the extra duration et al., you could use it.


blahpers wrote:
That sounds correct, but this is one of those "how spell-like is a spell-like ability?" situations. About X0% of the time, an SLA is treated just like a spell, but those little differences keep coming up. Strictly RAW, I'd say you couldn't use it with the SLA. If they had added the spells to the summoner's spell list and used a class feature to grant the extra duration et al., you could use it.

A little confused - added the spells to the Summoner's spell list? If we are talking Summon Monster spells those are in fact on the Summoner spell list.


Any SLA that copies a spell, functions as that spell in any way, except when specifically noted.
Hell, you can use a SLA as a prerequisite instead of (a) spell(s).

Scarab Sages

Leisner wrote:

Any SLA that copies a spell, functions as that spell in any way, except when specifically noted.

Hell, you can use a SLA as a prerequisite instead of (a) spell(s).

You also modify the summoner's SLA's with augmented summoning and superior summoning.

Grand Lodge

Well the Summoners SLA's have been cited as being able to benefit from the same Augmnent Summon feat that benefit the original spells.


So, in conclusion:

A Mythic Master Summoner (who would have to be at least 17th level) who uses his Summon Monster SLA + Extra Summonings (via Greater Eldritch Heritage feat) + Mighty Summons + Superior Summons would theoretically be able to summon 4 Augmented Glabrezu or Nalfashee (SMIX) or 5-7 Augmented Hezrou (SMVIII) or 6-9 Augmented Vrock (SMVII) with a single standard action.


Wiggz wrote:
blahpers wrote:
That sounds correct, but this is one of those "how spell-like is a spell-like ability?" situations. About X0% of the time, an SLA is treated just like a spell, but those little differences keep coming up. Strictly RAW, I'd say you couldn't use it with the SLA. If they had added the spells to the summoner's spell list and used a class feature to grant the extra duration et al., you could use it.
A little confused - added the spells to the Summoner's spell list? If we are talking Summon Monster spells those are in fact on the Summoner spell list.

Spells known, sorry.


LazarX wrote:
Well the Summoners SLA's have been cited as being able to benefit from the same Augmnent Summon feat that benefit the original spells.

Good enough for me.

Scarab Sages

Wiggz wrote:

So, in conclusion:

A Mythic Master Summoner (who would have to be at least 17th level) who uses his Summon Monster SLA + Extra Summonings (via Greater Eldritch Heritage feat) + Mighty Summons + Superior Summons would theoretically be able to summon 4 Augmented Glabrezu or Nalfashee (SMIX) or 5-7 Augmented Hezrou (SMVIII) or 6-9 Augmented Vrock (SMVII) with a single standard action.

Basically. It is powerful indeed; but for the feat/ability/level investment, that's appropriate.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mighty Summons (Mythic Path ability) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions