How many move equivalent actions do you allow in a round?


Rules Questions


?

Dark Archive

Per the rules it is 2. Unless your are performing a full round action, then none. Where is this unclear to you?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

0, 1, or 2.

2 move equivalent actions

or

1 standard and 1 move

or

full round action (no move)


I had a player use a pair of immovable rods a couple of very creative and actually pretty ingenious ways but it required him to activate them multiple times. RAW I know it would not be allowed but it was pretty harmless and pretty cool so I let him do it. So I was wondering what sort of handwaving other GMs may provide for other such circumstances.


Sometimes you can get more out of your actions such that you've used more than two; drawing a weapon while moving is one example. There's a few others.


Misunderstood Monk wrote:
I had a player use a pair of immovable rods a couple of very creative and actually pretty ingenious ways but it required him to activate them multiple times. RAW I know it would not be allowed but it was pretty harmless and pretty cool so I let him do it. So I was wondering what sort of handwaving other GMs may provide for other such circumstances.

Without knowing the details, I think this seems fine. Using the rods creatively is great, as long is it doesn't result in any instant-win solution that are repeated all the time.

As such it doesn't really become a question of allowing more move actions, but rather making slight changes to how the rod is activated.


That's why the immovable rod and the unseen servant are best friends. Yes, I know it's generally a "move-equivalent action" to direct a spell, but the conclusion our GM reached was that "giving orders to the unseen servant" talking-is-a-free-action, not "directing a spell" the way you'd control something like flaming sphere.


Haste could give you up to 3


gourry187 wrote:
Haste could give you up to 3

Nope.

Unless you're proposing a house rule.


Matthew Downie wrote:
gourry187 wrote:
Haste could give you up to 3

Nope.

Unless you're proposing a house rule.

I think he is proposing Mythic Haste, which grant an extra move action.

Technically, I can see a character gaining up to 6 move action in one round:

Default: 1 move + 1 standard action.
Monk of the 4 winds: Trade 1 standard into 3 standard/move actions.
Mythic haste: +1 move action
Quick runners shirt: +1 move action.

Total: 3 move action + 3 standard action that can be used as move actions.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

HaraldKlak wrote:
Matthew Downie wrote:
gourry187 wrote:
Haste could give you up to 3

Nope.

Unless you're proposing a house rule.

I think he is proposing Mythic Haste, which grant an extra move action.

Technically, I can see a character gaining up to 6 move action in one round:

Default: 1 move + 1 standard action.
Monk of the 4 winds: Trade 1 standard into 3 standard/move actions.
Mythic haste: +1 move action
Quick runners shirt: +1 move action.

Total: 3 move action + 3 standard action that can be used as move actions.

Don't forget the benefits of having a Pathfinder Chronicler in your group!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many move equivalent actions do you allow in a round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.