Do the polearm master archetype's attack bonuses to readied attacks and AoO's stack?


Rules Questions


The polearm master fighter archetype gets a +1 attack bonus on readied attacks and AoO's at lvl 3. Do they stack with each other? Specifically if you use a readied attack to make an attack of opportunity do you get a +1 to attack or +2 to attack?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

If you've readied an attack, and that attack is triggered, it is not an attack of opportunity. I don't think a single attack can be both at the same time.


Readied action happens differently from aoo as they get unto range your readied action goes off than when it moves through our threatened area your aoo goes off so basically u get +1 to each instance not +2

Liberty's Edge

Slim is correct.

A readied action is a standard attack action.

An AOO is a single melee attack that exists outside a standard action. Even if an AOO is triggered during your standard action, the AOO interrupts your standard action with your free attack, and then you resume your standard action.

They are separate actions that will never intersect.


You could work your way into Greater Trip then ready a trip attack and have both, on two separate attacks. Because they can't stack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do the polearm master archetype's attack bonuses to readied attacks and AoO's stack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.