Focused Spell[APG]


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

From the PRD for the APG
"Focused Spell (Metamagic)
When you cast a spell that affects more than one creature, one opponent finds it more difficult to resist.

Benefit: When casting a spell that affects or targets more than one creature, you can choose one target or creature within the spell effect. That creature's saving throw DC to resist the spell is increased by +2. You must choose which target to focus the spell on before casting the spell. A focused spell uses up a spell slot one level higher than the spell's actual level.

Spells that do not require a saving throw to resist or lessen the spell's effect do not benefit from this feat."

Does there actually need to be multiple targets for the spell at the time of the casting, or does the spell just have to be able to target multiple things if they are present?

Silver Crusade

I read it: "that affects or targets more than one creature,..." to be that there has to be more than one creature being affected by this casting of the spell.

I sometimes use friendly fire to get that bonus, which doesn't always go over well.


By the reading of the spell, yes it requires multiple targets to function.

@DesolateHarmony, that is a great way to get yourself killed by your friendly neighborhood barbarian.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Focused Spell[APG] All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions