When does a monk using FoB and Ki attack spend Ki?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, here is the question:

Can a monk who is using Flurry of Blows wait until rolling all of their normal attacks before choosing to spend a Ki point for an extra attack? Or must the monk declare the use of this ability at the start of a flurry?

Spending a ki point for the extra attack is a swift action which can only be used when a monk is doing a Flurry of Blows. I have done a little bit of searching but can't seem to find anything one way of the other on this.


We've house ruled that we have to spend the ki point before attacking but I've never seen anything the rules about this either.

Scarab Sages

Spending the Ki point to make an extra attack is a swift action.

A swift action can be taken at any point in a characters turn.

Given that Ki is a limited resource, I see no reason to placed additional limits on when it can be used.


Yes, I'd be happy with a monk spending that ki-point at any time during their turn. So if you flurry, fail to take down but think the enemy is teetering, spend that last point to try and finish them off is cool by me.

Sczarni

This question came up in a game I played in yesterday, and I wasn't sure how to answer it at the time.

Swift Actions wrote:
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
Free Actions wrote:
Free actions don't take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn. Free actions rarely incur attacks of opportunity.

So, "you can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action". I'd take that to mean you could probably spend the Ki point after all of your initial attacks were rolled.


Here is the problem you have to take attacks in order of highest bonus to lowest. Spending the key to flurry adds an extra bonus attack for the beginning of your attack sequence. So you could at lvl 8 flurry hit twice spend the ki point and add a third attack at your highest bab. But as soon as you started on your weaker attacks you wouldn't be able to use the attack granted by flurry.

Sczarni

Mojorat wrote:
Here is the problem you have to take attacks in order of highest bonus to lowest.

I don't see this in my CRB. Was it clarified in a FAQ somewhere?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is not an iterative attack. You only have to take iterative attacks in order from highest to lowest. You can attack All off hand, then all main hand or all main hand then all off hand or main hand off hand main hand etc. until you run out of iterative attacks then attack with haste or Ki or whatever bonus attack you have.

Therefore you can use Ki whenever you like, as long as you can do a swift action.

Sovereign Court

Nefreet wrote:
Mojorat wrote:
Here is the problem you have to take attacks in order of highest bonus to lowest.
I don't see this in my CRB. Was it clarified in a FAQ somewhere?

I think you and I were in the same game, funny how that works. :)

Personally, I am also leaning heavily towards the interpretation that a monk can choose to spend the Ki (or not) after resolving all of their flurry attacks, as long as the monk's turn has not ended.

I was just hoping that somewhere there was a faq or clarification to tie this (admittedly corner-case) into a nice package.

Since no one has pointed to a ruling, perhaps this is worth a faq click?

Sczarni

Lucklessone wrote:

So, here is the question:

Can a monk who is using Flurry of Blows wait until rolling all of their normal attacks before choosing to spend a Ki point for an extra attack? Or must the monk declare the use of this ability at the start of a flurry?

Spending a ki point for the extra attack is a swift action which can only be used when a monk is doing a Flurry of Blows. I have done a little bit of searching but can't seem to find anything one way of the other on this.

Yes you can, because it uses your highest Flurry BAB for that round regardless.

"By spending 1 point from his ki pool, a monk can make one additional attack at his highest attack bonus when making a flurry of blows attack."

As long as it is during a flurry. This is a swift action of course.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When does a monk using FoB and Ki attack spend Ki? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.