Metamagic Feat Slotting confusion


Rules Questions


Okay so if you have 3 Metamagic feats that cause you to have to cast a spell at say +2 it's normal level for each feat does this mean that I have to use up 3 slots/per day at one time to cast it? Or do I cast it and only loose 1 slot/per day for every time I cast that spell.

I have at the moment Magic Missle with Empowered and Maxamized with the Arcane Trait that lowers a feat by 1 and say add Sickening Spell to it for plus to all those feats require the spell to use a 3rd level slot/per day. So if I can cast 4 third level spells per day/slot do I use up 3 in one shot.

This came up last week and I naturally assumed it would work that it only used one 3rd level slot per casting. The GM let it go for the moment but still I wanna make sure.

Thanks,
- D -

Sczarni

The spell only takes up a single slot.

A level 1 spell with a +1 metamagic feat, a +2 metamagic feat, and a +3 metamagic feat, as well as a trait that lowers the overall level by 1, would take up a 6th level slot (1+1+2+3-1=6).


So if I don't have a 6th level slot yet I can't cast it?


Not with all those metamagics applied at the same time.

Sczarni

darkkeepr wrote:
So if I don't have a 6th level slot yet I can't cast it?

Correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic Feat Slotting confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.