| gourry187 |
So I have a character using a glaive (10 ft reach) who is standing directly behind the fighter who is engaged. Using the aid another action, you are required to make an attack roll against AC 10. However reach weapon are subject to ranged cover rules.
Does the character need to hit AC 14 to aid or does the specific AC 10 in the aid another action still apply?
| partyrico |
You actually have to hit the enemy with the aid another ability.
"In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent.[bold] If you're in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10.[/bold] If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent's next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack."
I think that cover bonuses would apply to enemy, but RAW the AC should always remain 10. Furthermore, while you need to threaten the enemy, you don't need to threaten your friend to aid another (at least for attack purposes).
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Yes you need to take cover into consideration and will need to be rolling against AC 14 instead of AC 10 due to it. The AC 10 isn't the opponents but just the target of your Aid Another attempt so your still affected by those rules.
Not really. He's simply helping to deflect the blows coming into his friend. Cover could be important if he was making an attack against the foe. But he's not. He's aiding his friend, adjacent to him with no range or interference whatsoever. On top of which, going with your capabilities, he has a Reach weapon. If other creatures with reach can overextend themselves to ignore cover/conealment from closer creatures, then why is this any different?
While the intent can be there, the RAW doesn't support it, and the intent you propose is shaky at best.