Can channel energy damage a possessing ghost?


Rules Questions

Acquisitives

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber

This has come up a few times over the course of a couple AP's in our group.

Scenario is that a ghost possesses a party member, let's say the rogue.

The cleric realizes what's going on and attempts to channel positive energy to damage undead.

If the ghost is possessing the rogue's body (a living vessel for the time being), does the channeled energy damage the possessing ghost since it is an undead creature within range of the channel? Or does the channeled energy get harmlessly absorbed by the living shell of the rogue's body?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If the cleric chose to harm undead, then the ghost would be damaged. This is a great way in my opinion to fight the ghost without hurting the host.


Hendelbolaf wrote:
If the cleric chose to harm undead, then the ghost would be damaged. This is a great way in my opinion to fight the ghost without hurting the host.

This seems reasonable, but I'm not sure if there is anything to support it or not.

Grand Lodge

Claxon wrote:
Hendelbolaf wrote:
If the cleric chose to harm undead, then the ghost would be damaged. This is a great way in my opinion to fight the ghost without hurting the host.

This seems reasonable, but I'm not sure if there is anything to support it or not.

There's nothing that says that being inside a posessed Human body blocks line of effect. otherwise protection from evil would have no effect on posession.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can channel energy damage a possessing ghost? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.