Earth Breaker


Rules Questions


In the normal state of the Feat 'Thunder and Fang' from Varisia: Birthplace of Legends, it reads:

Normal: An earth breaker is a two-handed weapon, preventing the use of a klar in one hand without imposing penalties for using the earth breaker one-handed. A klar can be used either as a one-handed weapon or a shield; it does not grant a bonus to AC during rounds in which it is used as a weapon.

What does "preventing the use of a klar in one hand without imposing penalties for using the earth breaker one-handed." mean?

How could an earth breaker be used one-handed without having this feat?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Titan Mauler or some similar cheese.

Sczarni

I believe that book was printed with the 3.5 ruleset in mind. The current Pathfinder version of handedness wasn't around yet.


Nefreet wrote:
I believe that book was printed with the 3.5 ruleset in mind. The current Pathfinder version of handedness wasn't around yet.

In 3.5 you couldn't use a two handed weapon in one hand either. 3.0 had monkey grip at least, but 3.5 the best you have is oversized off hand weapon... which doesn't apply to two handed at all. Pathfinder didn't have its own rules for handedness altogether either really...

Anyways, Titanmauler came out a few years later if I remember right, so I have no idea how you could hold an earth breaker in one hand. Just weird. Oh well!


MrSin wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
I believe that book was printed with the 3.5 ruleset in mind. The current Pathfinder version of handedness wasn't around yet.

In 3.5 you couldn't use a two handed weapon in one hand either. 3.0 had monkey grip at least, but 3.5 the best you have is oversized off hand weapon... which doesn't apply to two handed at all. Pathfinder didn't have its own rules for handedness altogether either really...

Anyways, Titanmauler came out a few years later if I remember right, so I have no idea how you could hold an earth breaker in one hand. Just weird. Oh well!

I'm pretty sure Monkey Grip was in either Complete Adventurer or Complete Warrior, or both, it was definitely in 3.5.


master_marshmallow wrote:
I'm pretty sure Monkey Grip was in either Complete Adventurer or Complete Warrior, or both, it was definitely in 3.5.

Found it! Its in complete warrior, requires oversized off hand weapon. Confusing text; doesn't look like it actually helps you wield a two handed something in one hand though...


That's a typo. An Earth Breaker is a 2 handed weapon, and a Klar is treated as a light shield, meaning you normally can't wear a Klar while wielding an Earth Breaker. The feat lets you bypass that. Also Birthplace of Legends just recently came out, there's no way it was written with the 3.5 rules in mind.


master_marshmallow wrote:
Titan Mauler or some similar cheese.

RAW the titan mauler can't do it.


Martiln wrote:
That's a typo. An Earth Breaker is a 2 handed weapon, and a Klar is treated as a light shield, meaning you normally can't wear a Klar while wielding an Earth Breaker. The feat lets you bypass that.

One way to wield an earth breaker in one hand:

1) Be a medium creature
2) Use a small sized earth breaker because the earth breaker is one size category smaller than you, it is a one-handed weapon
3) wield it in one hand with a klar, taking a -2 penalty on attack rolls

Quote:

"A weapon's size category isn't the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon's size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder.

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies."

Dark Archive

Umbranus wrote:
master_marshmallow wrote:
Titan Mauler or some similar cheese.
RAW the titan mauler can't do it.

Your wrong

Jotungrip says otherwise.


Titania, the Summer Queen wrote:
Umbranus wrote:
master_marshmallow wrote:
Titan Mauler or some similar cheese.
RAW the titan mauler can't do it.

Your wrong

Jotungrip says otherwise.

Jotung grip reduces penalties for weilding those weapons it doesnt give you the ability to by pass the rules for weapon sizes

Sczarni

TITAN MAULER

Titan Mauler (Archetype) wrote:


In lands overrun by giants, dragons, and other hulking beasts, entire fellowships of barbarians hone tactics and traditions with one purpose—to bring low these massive foes. While her enemies' size makes the creatures strong, the titan mauler is even stronger, taking up weapons from her fallen foes that no lesser warrior can lift, and using them when she beseeches the spirits to grant her increased size and greater ferocity against her titanic foes.

Big Game Hunter (Ex): A titan mauler gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls and a +1 dodge bonus to AC in melee with creatures larger than themselves. This ability replaces fast movement.

Jotungrip (Ex): At 2nd level, a titan mauler may choose to wield a two-handed weapon in one hand with a –2 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. The weapon must be appropriately sized for her, and it is treated as one-handed when determining the effect of Power Attack, Strength bonus to damage, and the like. This ability replaces uncanny dodge.

Massive Weapons (Ex): At 3rd level, a titan mauler becomes skilled in the use of massive weapons looted from her titanic foes. The attack roll penalty for using weapons too large for her size is reduced by 1, and this reduction increases by 1 for every three levels beyond 3rd (to a minimum of 0). This ability replaces trap sense.

Evade Reach (Ex): At 5th level, as a swift action, a titan mauler may choose one creature within her line of sight. Until the end of her turn, that target's reach is treated as if it were 5 feet shorter with respect to reaching the titan mauler, and this reduction increases by 5 feet for every five levels beyond 5th. This ability replaces improved uncanny dodge.

Titanic Rage (Su): At 14th level, a titan mauler may choose to gain the benefits of enlarge person when she enters a rage. While using titanic rage, she must spend 2 rounds of rage per round, and she becomes exhausted rather than fatigued when the rage ends. This ability replaces indomitable will.


Yeah Jotungrip is pretty clear. You can wield an earth breaker in one hand with that too. So there is precedent for it, both cases so far cause a -2 penalty on attacks. Thunder and Fang takes away that penalty and allows you to one-hand an earth breaker without this archetype or using a small earth breaker. Pretty simple!


Ah, yes it's only the oversized twohanded weapon cheese that the titan mauler can't but is always used to do.
I mixed it up.

Shadow Lodge

In my group, I believe the GM said you take a -4 penalty for improvised weapon (Because you are misusing the weapon), a -2 penalty for it being used as an inappropriate size, and a -2 encumbrance penalty because of how large it is. A total of -8 to hit with a weapon in one hand, but you get full damage. The alternative is to either take catch-off guard to take a -4 because you are proficient in improvised weapons, or use a smaller earthbreaker, do less damage, and only take a -2 penalty. This is technically a houserule though. The feat was probably an editing error. Maybe there was a feat that let you jotungrip weapons first, and this removed the penalties, but they removed it. Or maybe something else.


I was wrong the oversize weapons is what doenst allow you to go.


oh man why do people always mix masive weapons ans jotun grip up

a Titan mauler can wield two M sized Greatswords!!! but at massive penalties!

an M sized barb just can't wield annything bigger than a light Huge weapon large one handed weapon all two handed.
Or a M sized two-handed weapon ONE handed


and thunder and fang also alows you a 1d6 weapon as a shield retain your shield bonus while two weapon fighting wich is huge! my paladin/fighter has it


Wow alot of misinformation in the answers. When feats are layed out its prerequisites benefits and if the feat creates an exception to tge rules a blurb about normal explaining the normal rule.

Tbe feat has nothing to do with jotungrip monkeygrip etc its a PF feat that lets you use a specific 2handed weapon the earthbreaker with te klar using the earthbreaker 1 handed.

The bit the op posted is te part of the feat explain8ng the normal case that the feat creates an exception for.


i think most got that the guy just wanted to know what other situations there are how you can wield a two-handed weapon in 1 hand.

Titan mauler is such a case. I think Phalanx soldier is also.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Earth Breaker All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions