
NeoAethelwulf |
I'm new to pathfinder and I have some questions about the magus class. I have the spells touch of fatigue, and shocking grasp. I have the feat arcane strike. I have the class abilities arcane pool, cantrips, spell combat, and spell strike. Since touch of fatigue is a cantrip, I can cast it any number of times per day. So I figure why not always have it cast and hold the charge indefinitely. I was wondering if it was possible to do this in one round:
1. Use arcane pool as a swift action giving all of my attacks +1 dmg.
2. Use my touch of fatigue as a swift touch attack with my longsword. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier, and applying fatigue.)
3. Cast shocking grasp and make a swift touch attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier,+2D6 electric damage.)
4. Make a regular attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier)
This seems a little broken but I'm just curious if I'm missing something, thanks!

LuniasM |

Casting a spell is always a standard action unless stated otherwise. All you're getting from Spellstrike is a free weapon attack instead of the normal free touch attack to deliver the spell. This means that, using Spell Combat, you can get two attacks - one from the spell, and one from the full attack action.

NeoAethelwulf |
Casting a spell is always a standard action unless stated otherwise. All you're getting from Spellstrike is a free weapon attack instead of the normal free touch attack to deliver the spell. This means that, using Spell Combat, you can get two attacks - one from the spell, and one from the full attack action.
My logic for the 3rd attack was based on my assumption that the touch from a held spell cast prior to the round would be still be a swift action.

Abyssian |

havoc xiii wrote:If the touch is not a swift if used on a different turn as the casting, what does it become? Standard, movement?Nope you only get the free touch attack during the same turn as the casting.
Edit:
I think the OP mixed free with touch,
It becomes an attack. That is to say that it is a standard action but you can deliver several touch attack "charges" if you have more iterative attacks, for instance, from a high BAB.

Lord Pendragon |

All you're getting from Spellstrike is a free weapon attack instead of the normal free touch attack to deliver the spell.
Well...that, and your spell now uses your weapon's critical threat range, rather than only critting on a 20. Which is pretty much the core of magus damage dealing. ;)
So I figure why not always have it cast and hold the charge indefinitely.
You couldn't do this unless you never touched anything. As a DM I would rule this as unfeasible for any extended period of time.
I was wondering if it was possible to do this in one round:
1. Use arcane pool as a swift action giving all of my attacks +1 dmg.
2. Use my touch of fatigue as a swift touch attack with my longsword. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier, and applying fatigue.)
3. Cast shocking grasp and make a swift touch attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier,+2D6 electric damage.)
4. Make a regular attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier)
Your one round of actions would look like this:
Swift Action: Use arcane pool to empower weapon to +1.
Spell Combat Action: 1 longsword attack + 1 spell (Shocking Grasp). You'd need to make a Concentration check or lose the spell. Assuming you make your check, you substitute Shocking Grasp's standard touch attack with another longsword attack instead, if it hits you deal both longsword and Shocking Grasp damage. If you crit, both the longsword damage and the Shocking Grasp damage are doubled.
5ft. Step.
Note there's only one Swift Action (you only get one Swift Action per round), and Spell Combat is a full-round action, meaning you can only take a 5ft. step whenever you use it. The attack you get via spellstrike is not its own action--swift or otherwise--it's a substitution of the touch attack granted by the spell with a melee attack instead.

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:It becomes an attack. That is to say that it is a standard action but you can deliver several touch attack "charges" if you have more iterative attacks, for instance, from a high BAB.havoc xiii wrote:If the touch is not a swift if used on a different turn as the casting, what does it become? Standard, movement?Nope you only get the free touch attack during the same turn as the casting.
Edit:
I think the OP mixed free with touch,
Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?

Abyssian |

Abyssian wrote:Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?NeoAethelwulf wrote:It becomes an attack. That is to say that it is a standard action but you can deliver several touch attack "charges" if you have more iterative attacks, for instance, from a high BAB.havoc xiii wrote:If the touch is not a swift if used on a different turn as the casting, what does it become? Standard, movement?Nope you only get the free touch attack during the same turn as the casting.
Edit:
I think the OP mixed free with touch,
Link the spell and I'll tell you for sure.

MrSin |

Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?
I don't know if I read you right, but I think its no. It means you can use the touch again and again. You only get one free one. If used with spell combat you can use spell strike to land it repeatedly. You still get your one extra free touch attack(that you can turn into a weapon attack with spellstrike), but then after that you can charge your blade until you run out of touches.
Edit: Wow that's a mess of text. Describing magus gets messy imo.

NeoAethelwulf |
LuniasM wrote:All you're getting from Spellstrike is a free weapon attack instead of the normal free touch attack to deliver the spell.Well...that, and your spell now uses your weapon's critical threat range, rather than only critting on a 20. Which is pretty much the core of magus damage dealing. ;)
NeoAethelwulf wrote:So I figure why not always have it cast and hold the charge indefinitely.You couldn't do this unless you never touched anything. As a DM I would rule this as unfeasible for any extended period of time.
My understanding of the way these sort of spells functions is less like king midas. I thought since it's your character who cast the spell, they would have more control over when the spell is released.
Quote:I was wondering if it was possible to do this in one round:
1. Use arcane pool as a swift action giving all of my attacks +1 dmg.
2. Use my touch of fatigue as a swift touch attack with my longsword. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier, and applying fatigue.)
3. Cast shocking grasp and make a swift touch attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier,+2D6 electric damage.)
4. Make a regular attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier)Your one round of actions would look like this:
Swift Action: Use arcane pool to empower weapon to +1.
Spell Combat Action: 1 longsword attack + 1 spell (Shocking Grasp). You'd need to make a Concentration check or lose the spell. Assuming you make your check, you substitute Shocking Grasp's standard touch attack with another longsword attack instead, if it hits you deal both longsword and Shocking Grasp damage. If you crit, both the longsword damage and the Shocking Grasp damage are doubled.
5ft. Step.Note there's only one Swift Action (you only get one Swift Action per round), and Spell Combat is a full-round action, meaning you can only take a 5ft. step whenever you use it. The attack you get via spellstrike is not its own action--swift or otherwise--it's a substitution of the touch attack granted by the spell with a melee attack...
Why is a concentration check necessary?

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:Abyssian wrote:Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?NeoAethelwulf wrote:It becomes an attack. That is to say that it is a standard action but you can deliver several touch attack "charges" if you have more iterative attacks, for instance, from a high BAB.havoc xiii wrote:If the touch is not a swift if used on a different turn as the casting, what does it become? Standard, movement?Nope you only get the free touch attack during the same turn as the casting.
Edit:
I think the OP mixed free with touch,Link the spell and I'll tell you for sure.
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advanced/spells/elementalTouch.html#_ele mental-touch

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?I don't know if I read you right, but I think its no. It means you can use the touch again and again. You only get one free one. If used with spell combat you can use spell strike to land it repeatedly. You still get your one extra free touch attack(that you can turn into a weapon attack with spellstrike), but then after that you can charge your blade until you run out of touches.
Edit: Wow that's a mess of text. Describing magus gets messy imo.
It certainly does, hence my confusion. So with a touch spell that does not list charges but instead lists rounds of duration, my combat might go something like this?
round 1:spellstrike spell through blade(as free action) + 1 normal attack
round 2:spellstrike spell through blade(as standard action) + 1 move action. (or am I allowed another standard action of any kind in with spell strike)

Lord Pendragon |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Why is a concentration check necessary?
To avoid the AoO generated from casting a spell. Spell Combat lets you attack with your iterative attacks plus cast a spell. Casting a spell still provokes an AoO.
If you choose not to cast defensively (Concentration check), your opponent will get an AoO, and if he hits you'll need to make a Concentration check to avoid losing the spell anyway.
So one way or another, you're going to be making a Concentration check any time you use Spell Combat (assuming your foe isn't held or paralyzed or something.) Generally speaking it's smarter to make it to Cast Defensively, since if you fail that check you merely lose the spell, as opposed to losing the spell plus taking damage.

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:Why is a concentration check necessary?Ideally your casting defensively so you don't get whacked in the face with an AoO for casting a spell while threatened.
g
But I thought touch attacks don't provoke attacks of opportunity. Is it just the touch itself that doesn't provoke, but the casting itself while threatened does?

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:Why is a concentration check necessary?To avoid the AoO generated from casting a spell. Spell Combat lets you attack with your iterative attacks plus cast a spell. Casting a spell still provokes an AoO.
If you choose not to cast defensively (Concentration check), your opponent will get an AoO, and if he hits you'll need to make a Concentration check to avoid losing the spell anyway.
So one way or another, you're going to be making a Concentration check any time you use Spell Combat (assuming your foe isn't held or paralyzed or something.) Generally speaking it's smarter to make it to Cast Defensively, since if you fail that check you merely lose the spell, as opposed to losing the spell plus taking damage.
Could I cast the spell from 5 feet away. Take a 5 foot step. Then get both attacks, one with a spell, w/o provoking the AoO?

Abyssian |

Abyssian wrote:http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advanced/spells/elementalTouch.html#_ele mental-touchNeoAethelwulf wrote:Abyssian wrote:Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?NeoAethelwulf wrote:It becomes an attack. That is to say that it is a standard action but you can deliver several touch attack "charges" if you have more iterative attacks, for instance, from a high BAB.havoc xiii wrote:If the touch is not a swift if used on a different turn as the casting, what does it become? Standard, movement?Nope you only get the free touch attack during the same turn as the casting.
Edit:
I think the OP mixed free with touch,Link the spell and I'll tell you for sure.
Yes. For as many rounds as you have caster levels, you can full attack with your elemental touch.
It is worth noting, though, that the free action attack does NOT apply after the round in which you cast the spell. However, unlike "hold-the-charge" touch spells, this one will NOT go away if you cast another spell during the duration. Even still, for a full-attack touch spell, you can't beat frostbite.

Abyssian |

Lord Pendragon wrote:NeoAethelwulf wrote:Why is a concentration check necessary?To avoid the AoO generated from casting a spell. Spell Combat lets you attack with your iterative attacks plus cast a spell. Casting a spell still provokes an AoO.
If you choose not to cast defensively (Concentration check), your opponent will get an AoO, and if he hits you'll need to make a Concentration check to avoid losing the spell anyway.
So one way or another, you're going to be making a Concentration check any time you use Spell Combat (assuming your foe isn't held or paralyzed or something.) Generally speaking it's smarter to make it to Cast Defensively, since if you fail that check you merely lose the spell, as opposed to losing the spell plus taking damage.
Could I cast the spell from 5 feet away. Take a 5 foot step. Then get both attacks, one with a spell, w/o provoking the AoO?
Sure. As long as you happen to start at exactly 5 feet away.

Lord Pendragon |

round 1:spellstrike spell through blade(as free action) + 1 normal attack
round 2:spellstrike spell through blade(as standard action) + 1 move action. (or am I allowed another standard action of any kind in with spell strike)
This is incorrect. First of all, spellstrike is not an action, free or otherwise. It allows a magus to substitute a touch attack with a melee attack, when casting a spell with a range of "touch."
Note that Elemental Touch has a range of "personal" not a range of touch, meaning you cannot use spellstrike with it to begin with.
Now let's look at a spell that does qualify for use with spellstrike: Frostbite.
Range: Touch. Good, we qualify for spellstrike. But unlike Shocking Grasp, Frostbite provides the magus with multiple touch attacks. These additional charges can be delivered whenever the magus hits his target with his melee weapon until he runs out charges or casts another spell.

Abyssian |

Lord Pendragon: good call on the range of elemental touch. No free action delivery for that one.
to NeoAethelwulf: seriously, though: look into frostbite if you can manage lots of attacks in a round (polymorph spells!?!), you won't be disappointed. If you also invested a trait and a feat, you'll be throwing entangled into the mix. Throw another feat in and you add shaken. PER ATTACK!

![]() |

NeoAethelwulf wrote:
Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advanced/spells/elementalTouch.html#_ele mental-touch
Yes. For as many rounds as you have caster levels, you can full attack with your elemental touch.
It is worth noting, though, that the free action attack does NOT apply after the round in which you cast the spell. However, unlike "hold-the-charge" touch spells, this one will NOT go away if you cast another spell during the duration. Even still, for a full-attack touch spell, you can't beat frostbite.
Elemental touch is not usable with Spell strike. Spell Strike only affects spells with a range of touch. Elemental touch is a personal spell that gives you a touch attack you can use over and over. It affects you, not another person THROUGH a touch.

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:round 1:spellstrike spell through blade(as free action) + 1 normal attack
round 2:spellstrike spell through blade(as standard action) + 1 move action. (or am I allowed another standard action of any kind in with spell strike)This is incorrect. First of all, spellstrike is not an action, free or otherwise. It allows a magus to substitute a touch attack with a melee attack, when casting a spell with a range of "touch."
Note that Elemental Touch has a range of "personal" not a range of touch, meaning you cannot use spellstrike with it to begin with.
Now let's look at a spell that does qualify for use with spellstrike: Frostbite.
Range: Touch. Good, we qualify for spellstrike. But unlike Shocking Grasp, Frostbite provides the magus with multiple touch attacks. These additional charges can be delivered whenever the magus hits his target with his melee weapon until he runs out charges or casts another spell.
Wow, so a lvl 2 magus can do 2d8(longsword)+2D6+4(frostbite) before other bonuses, in one round?

NeoAethelwulf |
Lord Pendragon: good call on the range of elemental touch. No free action delivery for that one.
to NeoAethelwulf: seriously, though: look into frostbite if you can manage lots of attacks in a round (polymorph spells!?!), you won't be disappointed. If you also invested a trait and a feat, you'll be throwing entangled into the mix. Throw another feat in and you add shaken. PER ATTACK!
Please elaborate, why polymorph? Also, what feats and trait?

Lord Pendragon |

Wow, so a lvl 2 magus can do 2d8(longsword)+2D6+4(frostbite) before other bonuses, in one round?
Yes. :) Frostbite particularly shines, as Abyssian mentioned, when you get a lot of attacks. Eventually the magus gains access to the spell Monstrous Physique I, which can allow you to take a form with six natural attacks. :D

Abyssian |

Abyssian wrote:Please elaborate, why polymorph? Also, what feats and trait?Lord Pendragon: good call on the range of elemental touch. No free action delivery for that one.
to NeoAethelwulf: seriously, though: look into frostbite if you can manage lots of attacks in a round (polymorph spells!?!), you won't be disappointed. If you also invested a trait and a feat, you'll be throwing entangled into the mix. Throw another feat in and you add shaken. PER ATTACK!
Well, Lord Pendragon hit the polymorph bit. Either trait that allows metamagic at -1 effective spell level and Rime Spell

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:Wow, so a lvl 2 magus can do 2d8(longsword)+2D6+4(frostbite) before other bonuses, in one round?Yes. :) Frostbite particularly shines, as Abyssian mentioned, when you get a lot of attacks. Eventually the magus gains access to the spell Monstrous Physique I, which can allow you to take a form with six natural attacks. :D
What form gives you 6 natural attacks? Is it better to take polymorph or hold out for the Monstrous Physique I?

MrSin |

What form gives you 6 natural attacks?
Four Armed Gargoyle is one I remember, but you have to hold out on 2. Don't forget you can scribe extra spells because your a prepared caster. Four armed gargoyles are just wicked though.

Lord Pendragon |

What form gives you 6 natural attacks? Is it better to take polymorph or hold out for the Monstrous Physique I?
You may find this useful. :)

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:What form gives you 6 natural attacks?Four Armed Gargoyle is one I remember, but you have to hold out on 2. Don't forget you can scribe extra spells because your a prepared caster. Four armed gargoyles are just wicked though.
I was thinking since I'm only a lvl 2 right now that I might stick with dire ape for the added strength and natural armor. This way I could still use my sword! I will only have frostbite for 2 attacks.

Redneckdevil |

LuniasM wrote:All you're getting from Spellstrike is a free weapon attack instead of the normal free touch attack to deliver the spell.Well...that, and your spell now uses your weapon's critical threat range, rather than only critting on a 20. Which is pretty much the core of magus damage dealing. ;)
NeoAethelwulf wrote:So I figure why not always have it cast and hold the charge indefinitely.You couldn't do this unless you never touched anything. As a DM I would rule this as unfeasible for any extended period of time.
Quote:I was wondering if it was possible to do this in one round:
1. Use arcane pool as a swift action giving all of my attacks +1 dmg.
2. Use my touch of fatigue as a swift touch attack with my longsword. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier, and applying fatigue.)
3. Cast shocking grasp and make a swift touch attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier,+2D6 electric damage.)
4. Make a regular attack with my longsword at a -2 from my spell combat. (1D8 +1arcane pool, +1arcane strike,+1str modifier)Your one round of actions would look like this:
Swift Action: Use arcane pool to empower weapon to +1.
Spell Combat Action: 1 longsword attack + 1 spell (Shocking Grasp). You'd need to make a Concentration check or lose the spell. Assuming you make your check, you substitute Shocking Grasp's standard touch attack with another longsword attack instead, if it hits you deal both longsword and Shocking Grasp damage. If you crit, both the longsword damage and the Shocking Grasp damage are doubled.
5ft. Step.Note there's only one Swift Action (you only get one Swift Action per round), and Spell Combat is a full-round action, meaning you can only take a 5ft. step whenever you use it. The attack you get via spellstrike is not its own action--swift or otherwise--it's a substitution of the touch attack granted by the spell with a melee attack...
Where does it state that spells will go off ur weapons crit range and not the base 20? Becausethe way I was reading and I maybe wrong was that it was entirely possible to crit wi. Ur weapon but only do the reg spell amount of dmg.

MrSin |

Where does it state that spells will go off ur weapons crit range and not the base 20? Becausethe way I was reading and I maybe wrong was that it was entirely possible to crit wi. Ur weapon but only do the reg spell amount of dmg.
This attack uses the weapon’s critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:What form gives you 6 natural attacks? Is it better to take polymorph or hold out for the Monstrous Physique I?You may find this useful. :)
Thank you. Silly me thought polymorph was a second level spell. I saved this for future reference.

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:Abyssian wrote:http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advanced/spells/elementalTouch.html#_ele mental-touchNeoAethelwulf wrote:Abyssian wrote:Interesting, so when a spell such as elemental touch has a duration: 1 round/level. Does this mean that I can deliver as many touch attacks as my character can within those rounds?NeoAethelwulf wrote:It becomes an attack. That is to say that it is a standard action but you can deliver several touch attack "charges" if you have more iterative attacks, for instance, from a high BAB.havoc xiii wrote:If the touch is not a swift if used on a different turn as the casting, what does it become? Standard, movement?Nope you only get the free touch attack during the same turn as the casting.
Edit:
I think the OP mixed free with touch,Link the spell and I'll tell you for sure.
Yes. For as many rounds as you have caster levels, you can full attack with your elemental touch.
It is worth noting, though, that the free action attack does NOT apply after the round in which you cast the spell. However, unlike "hold-the-charge" touch spells, this one will NOT go away if you cast another spell during the duration. Even still, for a full-attack touch spell, you can't beat frostbite.
By "hold-the-charge" touch spells,do you mean you can hold the charge on any spell with the range of touch?

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:What form gives you 6 natural attacks?Four Armed Gargoyle is one I remember, but you have to hold out on 2. Don't forget you can scribe extra spells because your a prepared caster. Four armed gargoyles are just wicked though.
Could you link a reference to scribing extra spells please?

Redneckdevil |

Redneckdevil wrote:Where does it state that spells will go off ur weapons crit range and not the base 20? Becausethe way I was reading and I maybe wrong was that it was entirely possible to crit wi. Ur weapon but only do the reg spell amount of dmg.Spell Strike wrote:This attack uses the weapon’s critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.
Reason why i asked was because the 2 sentences before was talking directly about the melee part and was under the assumption it was still talking about it. Keep learning new things tht ive misread :-)

MrSin |

MrSin wrote:Could you link a reference to scribing extra spells please?NeoAethelwulf wrote:What form gives you 6 natural attacks?Four Armed Gargoyle is one I remember, but you have to hold out on 2. Don't forget you can scribe extra spells because your a prepared caster. Four armed gargoyles are just wicked though.
Link and a quote.
Spellbooks: A magus must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook except for read magic, which all magi can prepare from memory. A magus begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level magus spells plus three 1st-level magus spells of his choice. The magus also selects a number of additional 1st-level magus spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to his spellbook. At each new magus level, he gains two new magus spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new magus level) for his spellbook. At any time, a magus can also add spells found in other spellbooks to his own.
A magus can learn spells from a wizard’s spellbook, just as a wizard can from a magus’s spellbook. The spells learned must be on the magus spell list, as normal. An alchemist can learn formulae from a magus’s spellbook, if the spells are also on the alchemist spell list. A magus cannot learn spells from an alchemist.

NeoAethelwulf |
NeoAethelwulf wrote:MrSin wrote:Could you link a reference to scribing extra spells please?NeoAethelwulf wrote:What form gives you 6 natural attacks?Four Armed Gargoyle is one I remember, but you have to hold out on 2. Don't forget you can scribe extra spells because your a prepared caster. Four armed gargoyles are just wicked though.Link and a quote.
** spoiler omitted **
Ok, for some reason with the word scribe made me think of crafting scrolls.