3 Goblin Questions


Rules Questions


From the ARG do Goblin characters' +4 "size" and +4 "skilled" racial skill bonuses to Stealth, stack?

Does the Burn!Burn!Burn! feat add an extra point to the splash damage from a Goblin's bombs?

Under the Fire Bomber (Alchemist)Archetype, how does one specify, rules-wise, that the bomb the Goblin is throwing is a bomb that deals fire damage?


1. Yes

Don't know about the others, haven't looked closely at the alchemist.


Burn!Burn!Burn! does not add extra d4 damage to bombs as bombs are splash damage and the feat specifies not adding the extra damage to splash damage weapons. Fire Bomber archetype also specifies that bombs do splash damage.

In the Alchemist section, Bomb paragraph specifies that bombs are always fire damage unless a discovery is taken to change their elemental type. "On a direct hit, an alchemist’s bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier."


Enocelot wrote:
From the ARG do Goblin characters' +4 "size" and +4 "skilled" racial skill bonuses to Stealth, stack?

Goblins have +4 size bonus to Stealth checks and +4 racial bonus to Stealth checks so yes, they stack as Zhayne already stated.

Quote:
Does the Burn!Burn!Burn! feat add an extra point to the splash damage from a Goblin's bombs?

Burn! Burn! Burn! feat explicitly states "Additional damage caused by this feat does not apply to magical attacks (such as an alchemist's bomb) or to splash damage." so no, it does not.

Quote:
Under the Fire Bomber (Alchemist)Archetype, how does one specify, rules-wise, that the bomb the Goblin is throwing is a bomb that deals fire damage?

Alchemist bomb unmodified by any discovery inflicts fire damage. Bombs modified by discoveries deals fire damage unless the discovery specifies otherwise, for example acid bomb deals acid damage and frost bomb deals cold damage.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Mapleswitch.


Mapleswitch,

Thanks for pointing out the fire damage specification- I had spent my time looking for the fire bomb in the Discovery Section....

But I am confused about your BBB answer, the ARG says: " you deal an extra 1d4 of fire damage when you attack with fire from an alchemical or nonmagical source".

My question is: does that 1d4 add 1 to the (from the APG pg28) "Splash damage from an alchemists bomb is always equal to the bombs minimum damage"?


Look at the last line in B!B!B! feat description.

If you have a 20 Int, the minimum damage of your bombs would be 6. The splash damage from your bombs would be 6. Minimum damage can go up in various ways, but not through that feat.


Even thought the class is called the Alchemist, his bombs are considered magical, not alchemical.

And, as others have pointed out, the feat specifically excludes use with an Alchemist's bombs, so I'm not sure where the confusion is coming from.

PRD wrote:

Burn! Burn! Burn!

You take the goblin love of arson and fire play to a whole new level.

Prerequisites: Disable Device 1 rank, goblin.

Benefit: You deal an extra 1d4 points of fire damage when you attack with fire from an alchemical or nonmagical source (such as with alchemical fire or torches) and gain a +4 competence bonus on Reflex saving throws made to avoid catching on fire or to put yourself out when on fire. Additional damage caused by this feat does not apply to magical attacks (such as an alchemist's bomb) or to splash damage.

What this says to me is if a goblin alchemist with this feat throws his bombs at someone, the feat doesn't doing anything for him. However, if he chucks a vial of alchemist's fire at them, it would do and additional 1d4 points of damage on a direct hit, but nothing to anyone caught in the splash damage.


4. Yes, you're required to use a Goblin voice while playing a goblin.

Liberty's Edge

Burn! Burn! Burn!

Where this feat comes into play is if your goblin uses a torch as a melee weapon. it gives it an additional 1d4 fire damage. Also alchemical splash weapon that deal fire damage such as alchemist's fire will do an additional 1d4 fire damage.

So your melee torch damage would be 1d2+(1d4+1 Fire Damage)

On a direct hit Alchemist fire would deal 1d6+1d4 fire Damage, then again in the 2nd round as well.

Where I am not sure is on the splash damage. Would splash damage be 1+1d4. Or would it use the same rules as Alchemist's bombs and just do minimum damage(2)? I would think that by the RAW it would be 1+1d4.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 3 Goblin Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions