Hand of the Apprentice


Rules Questions


From the paizo.com listing:

Hand of the Apprentice (Su): You cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp and strike a foe before instantly returning to you. As a standard action, you can make a single attack using a melee weapon at a range of 30 feet. This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, except that you add your Intelligence modifier on the attack roll instead of your Dexterity modifier (damage still relies on Strength). This ability cannot be used to perform a combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier.

I'm concerned specifically with the phrasing, "This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon," and what it might imply. When my BAB reaches +6, will I be able to make a second Hand of the Apprentice attack if I choose to take the Full Attack action, or will I always be limited to one use of this ability per round?


It says 'as a standard action', so you won't get iterative attacks from a high BAB. The only way to get multiple attacks with that is to find some way to take an extra standard action on your turn.

Lantern Lodge

It clearly states, standard action = single attack.

Many abilities and feats key off single attacks only.

Sorry, but full round attacking with Hand of the Apprentice won't net you more attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hand of the Apprentice All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.