Ring of Revelation + Misfortune (dual cursed oracle) = ?


Rules Questions


D you get to nail all your opponents twice a day with that?


no


What does it do?


Misfortune (Ex): At 1st level, as an immediate action, you can force a creature within 30 feet to reroll any one d20 roll that it has just made before the results of the roll are revealed. The creature must take the result of the reroll, even if it's worse than the original roll. Once a creature has suffered from your misfortune, it cannot be the target of this revelation again for 1 day.

So if you hit this creature with this ability it is immune to this ability for ANY source for 1 day.


Finlanderboy wrote:

Misfortune (Ex): At 1st level, as an immediate action, you can force a creature within 30 feet to reroll any one d20 roll that it has just made before the results of the roll are revealed. The creature must take the result of the reroll, even if it's worse than the original roll. Once a creature has suffered from your misfortune, it cannot be the target of this revelation again for 1 day.

So if you hit this creature with this ability it is immune to this ability for ANY source for 1 day.

Not sure about that. IIRC similar language was ruled to allow multiple witches to hex a target.


Yeah, nothing in there says two oracles couldn't doubletap a guy with misfortune. "Your misfortune." "This Revelation."

Check the ring text:

If the oracle already has that revelation and the revelation gives an ability with a limited number of uses per day, the oracle can use that ability one additional time per day. The ring has no effect if worn by a non-oracle.

Misfortune is a limited use per day power, right?

It works for other "once per day" revelations, right?


Misfortune is not a limited use per day. It's a limited use per creature.

If you already have the revelation the ring does nothing.


Limited use per creature per day.. Says it right there, does it not?


Once a creature has suffered from your misfortune, it cannot be the target of this revelation again for 1 day.

This explains it. right from the rules.


The rules also say other revelations are once per day too, and the ring still works on those.

I don't mean to be argumentative,I just want a clear explanation of why it does or doesn't work. None so far IMO.


Misfortune is not a per-day power. You can use it as many times a day as you wish.

That there are targeting restrictions on the power does not remove your ability to use it an unlimited number of times per day.

The ring in this case would do nothing, since it's giving you a revelation you already have and is not stacking with a per-day power.


You can use it as many times a day as you wish, per opponent, per day. Describe to me how that's not a per day power.


beej67 wrote:
You can use it as many times a day as you wish, per opponent, per day. Describe to me how that's not a per day power.

No where does it say this power is usable once a day. Creature become immune to this ability as a whole for 1 day after hitting them with it.

You can keep pinging them with you immediate actions with misfortune but it does nothing after the first time because they have become resistent to it for 1 day.

If you do not understand this simple reading I do know how to explain it simpler.

If you wanna playa home game and play it differently that is fine, but to keep asking the same question after it has been answered many times becomes redundant.


"You can keep pinging them with you immediate actions with misfortune but it does nothing after the first time because they have become resistent to it for 1 day."

That is clear. Thanks. So the ring does nothing.

Shadow Lodge

I'm not sure what the ring of revelation does or if the oracle's misfortune is the same as the witch's, but...

I read somewhere that if you have two sources to either
(a) force an opponent to reroll or
(b) want to reroll one of your own rolls,

...you can't reroll more than dice roll at once.

So if you have ability A which lets you force an opponent to reroll, and that expires, and you have ability B which lets you force an opponent to reroll on the next round, you can do that.

But you can't say that the opponent needs to make two rerolls on that one roll.

So yes, twice per day, but not at the same time.

Liberty's Edge

Just a side note, this isn't opponents only. While it is definitely not fluffy to use misfortune to increase your allies competence, it is RAW legal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Revelation + Misfortune (dual cursed oracle) = ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions