Need a Summoner (Synthesist) ruling


Rules Questions


Recently got in a spat with my DM regarding a rules interpretation about my Synthesist. Before reading any further, know that I am well aware that he can rule however he wants. If he said that, fine. But as he is arguing errata from the books, I want to see who is correct.

Character in question (while in Eidolon mode) has 4 legs, 10 arms with light weapons, and pounce @ lvl 7.

1) Regarding the Multi-Weapon Fighting feat.

a) As MWF essentially acts at TWF for anyone with more than 2 arms, am I capable of making a full attack action with my bite and 10 arms at the end of my charge by utilizing pounce?

b) My summoner has TWF. As per the special text under MWF (Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms.), does TWF turn into MWF upon entering Eidolon mode? He is arguing that the two do not become one creature, even though under Eidolon it states "The eidolon mimics all of the synthesist’s movements, and the synthesist perceives through the eidolon’s senses and speaks through its voice, as the two are now ONE creature." The alternative would be waiting to pick up MWF until I hit lvl 10 and can gain more limbs via Aspect.

I will add more later, these are the only two I remember at the moment.


a) No. Max attacks for an Eidolon at 7th level is 4 - as is clearly stated in the Eidolon description.

Grand Lodge

The text for Pounce doesn't limit it to just natural attacks, so you can get all your weapon attacks.

TWF doesn't morph into MWF without some sort of house rule. Getting an extra limb through Aspect so you qualify for MWF is the only way.

The Max Attacks in the chart only refers to the natural attacks the eidolon can perform. It doesn't apply to weapons wielded.


Yes u are correct the two count as 1 creature for all intents and purposes.

you may use your feats as a synthesist because your eidelon doesn't get any of it's own, so as a merged creature you must use your character feats.

if the hand holds a weapon it cannot claw.

you can use multiweapon fighting or twf not both choose 1. and you are limited to the listed attacks while in eidelon form not matter how many arms and weapons you may posess

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Need a Summoner (Synthesist) ruling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions