Cavalier + chage + lance = critical or works like a critical.


Rules Questions


Damage from a Lance and/or Spirit Charge is an extra damage that is multiply, so if this works just like critical hits then can a creature immune to critical or that has some Fortification can negate the Lance x2 (or x3 with Spirit Charge extra damage)?

Scarab Sages

It does not work just like a critical hit, it is not a critical hit, and it is not listed as precision damage. So, you get the damage multiplier even against creatures who are immune to critical hits or sneak attack, and fortification does nothing to negate the bonus damage.


I need some RAW, some good evidence from the rules o FAQ's.

Scarab Sages

You are asking for rules to show as evidence that something is not countered by something that doesn't say it counters it. Neither Fortification, nor the various traits (like the Ooze type) say that they counter that damage. They specifically say that they counter "additional damage from precision-based attacks, such as sneak attack."

Since the extra damage is not listed as precision damage, it is not countered by abilities that prevent precision damage. It is extra damage that comes from a huge amount of mass and momentum hitting the target at a high rate of speed.

If you look at other abilities that do precision damage, like the Duelist's Precise Strike you'll notice it specifically calls itself out as being precision damage. There is no such verbage in the lance and charge abilities. Since they don't say they do precision damage, they don't do precision damage, so they aren't countered by abilities that prevent precision damage.


Not every ability that has a damage multiplier is a precision or a critical hit.

Precision damage abilities are specifically listed, and critical hits have specific mechanics.

If something ELSE says it multiplies damage, that doesn't associate it with the above two abilities with similar mechanics.

There are no rules that say what you want because they aren't necessary.


Spirited Charge and mounted lance damage have nothing to do with critical hits.

Mounted Lance Charges do x2 damage, look under lance description.

Spirited Charge does double damage on a mounted cahrge, or x3 on a mounted lance charge per the feat description.

Neither of these have anything to do with criticals. You get x3 damage, and can critical on it to. Which I believe ends up as effectively x6, but I can't remember if that is correct or not. It may only be x4 because multipliers stack weird.

Scarab Sages

Claxon wrote:

Spirited Charge and mounted lance damage have nothing to do with critical hits.

Mounted Lance Charges do x2 damage, look under lance description.

Spirited Charge does double damage on a mounted cahrge, or x3 on a mounted lance charge per the feat description.

Neither of these have anything to do with criticals. You get x3 damage, and can critical on it to. Which I believe ends up as effectively x6, but I can't remember if that is correct or not. It may only be x4 because multipliers stack weird.

Two triples is x5 damage. You start with your base damage, so you don't count the first multipler from each additional multipler source. So 2 doubles equals a triple, a double and a triple equals a quadruple, and two triples equals.... what would that be quintupled damage? Anyways, x5.

The cavalier can actually kick it all the way up to x7 on a crit when he gets Supreme Charge.


So something with full critical immunity will not be immune to the multiplied damage from a lance, right?

Liberty's Edge

Jose Suarez 916 wrote:
So something with full critical immunity will not be immune to the multiplied damage from a lance, right?

Assuming you're charging, no.

Scarab Sages

Jose Suarez 916 wrote:
So something with full critical immunity will not be immune to the multiplied damage from a lance, right?

That's exactly right. Fortification/Critical Immunity would only affect additional damage if they crit. So it would have no affect on the initial 3x damage from a Spirited Charge, but if the Cavalier also crit, it would negate that additional damage only. So a cavalier critting on a charge with Spirited Charge against a normal creature would be 5x damage, the same scenario against an ooze would still be 3x damage.


Thank you all, its pretty clear then. Multiply damage is not always ''critical'' damage. The best example would be spirited charge.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cavalier + chage + lance = critical or works like a critical. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions