Shadowcaster Wizard


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I've asked this question before, but haven't gotten a response.

One of my Pathfinder Society characters is a Wayang Illusionist of the Shadowcaster Archetype. This archetype gains Darkvision 60 feet at 5th level instead of a bonus feat. Wayangs, however, already have exactly that. So what happens when my (just shy of level 3) character reaches 5th level? Does his Darkvision range double? Does he get nothing? Is there some way he can opt for the normal bonus feat instead?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

He gets nothing out of it.


I don't know that it would suffice for PFS, but as a precedent set with a Shadowdancer:
Darkvision (Ex): At 2nd level, a shadowdancer gains darkvision out to a range of 60 feet. If she already has darkvision, the range increases by 30 feet.

Sczarni

Usually the ability says that your darkvision range expands, but in this case you get nothing unfortunately unless there is some rule about darkvision stacking which I don't recall.

Shadow Lodge

For PFS you would gain no additional benefit as the Shadowcaster ability does not contain language about it stacking with existing darkvision.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shadowcaster Wizard All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions