Invisibility and Gaze attacks


Rules Questions


If a creature with a gaze attack is invisible, does that nullify the ability like a veil would, or does it need to be veiled as well as invisible to nullify the ability? It isn't clear to me from the bestiary.


The PfSRD says :

Quote:
A gaze attack takes effect when foes look at the attacking creature's eyes

It's hard to look someone's eyes if he is invisible, so for me, no gaze attack when invisible.


Noir le Lotus wrote:

The PfSRD says :

Quote:
A gaze attack takes effect when foes look at the attacking creature's eyes
It's hard to look someone's eyes if he is invisible, so for me, no gaze attack when invisible.

I can certainly see it working that way. What got me confused is this bit contrasted to the first bit (bolding mine):

PRD wrote:

A creature with a gaze attack can actively gaze as an attack action by choosing a target within range. That opponent must attempt a saving throw but can try to avoid this as described above. Thus, it is possible for an opponent to save against a creature's gaze twice during the same round, once before the opponent's action and once during the creature's turn.

Gaze attacks can affect ethereal opponents. A creature is immune to the gaze attacks of others of its kind unless otherwise noted. Allies of a creature with a gaze attack might be affected; these allies are considered to be averting their eyes from the creature with the gaze attack, and have a 50% chance to not need to make a saving throw against the gaze attack each round.The creature can also veil its eyes, thus negating its gaze ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Invisibility and Gaze attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions