When a Wizard levels up how many new spell does he get


Rules Questions


Just asking as cant seem to find answer in book maybe looking in wrong place. In our game our Wizard gets a least 5 new spell which I think is wrong.


"At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook."

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

It's two a level, plus stuff from racial class options possibly.

Depending on the character, there may be feats/traits that mitigate that. I know that there were some in 3.x


click this link to see where Daehsquinn got the two from


I doubt that he should get "at least 5 new spells". Maybe he's applying his INT modifier (he shouldn't)?

It's just two free ones. More than that and he'll need to find or buy scrolls or other spellbooks, etc., and spend the time copying them into his own spellbook.


thought so any idea where is says this in the book.


Under Wizard in the Classes chapter. Go down to Spellbooks.

Quote:

Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When a Wizard levels up how many new spell does he get All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions