Ratfolk ninja and Shadow clone


Rules Questions


As I understand it, shadow clone, as per mirror image, creates images in your square, performing the same actions you do. Now the swarming rule for ratfolk states that when 2 ratfolk share a space and attack(which the clone is technically doing), they count as flanking! So a ratfolk ninja is now able to sneak attack due to having flanking from his shadow clones! After all, the enemy thinks he's facing more than one rat.

At the moment I'm ruling a will save each attack to disbelieve at 10+cha+ninja level+spell level, i.e. the save for any spellcasting class' spell.

I'm surprised I couldn't find any threads in this, I feel like I'm missing something obvious, or my player is a genius where nobody has noticed this before.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Shadow Clone is an illusionary figment. It can't attack. It is simply there to confuse enemies and hopefully take a hit for you.

So, the swarming ability of ratfolk does not apply.


darth_borehd wrote:

The Shadow Clone is an illusionary figment. It can't attack. It is simply there to confuse enemies and hopefully take a hit for you.

So, the swarming ability of ratfolk does not apply.

+1


darth_borehd wrote:

The Shadow Clone is an illusionary figment. It can't attack. It is simply there to confuse enemies and hopefully take a hit for you.

So, the swarming ability of ratfolk does not apply.

This Sith lord has the right of it.


I realise that thematically it is not appropriate, but RAW Mirror image does say it mimics your ACTIONS exactly. Attacking is an action, so why the exclusion?


So do you allow him multiple attack rolls for each image also?

If they hit what happens?

Do they all hit if the main person hits?

Mirror image says nothing about allowing the images to count as allies or even other creatures for any effect

The description of the spell says exactly what it does...it does nothing else


They mimic your actions, not take actions themselves. They can't really pick up objects or attack anybody. They just look like they do.


The other problem with this is that the ratfolk ability states that they must attack the same target so really only the 2nd ratfolk can flank since one of them would have to attack first to trigger the ability. Since it isn't clear if an attack from a previous round would count for subsequent rounds really only one of the two ratfolk will ever get the flanking bonus. With the images they can only mimic your actions so you would have to attack first anyways and thus wouldn't qualify for the flanking.


mimic your actions exactly also may be intrerpteted to mean exactly that.

so when you attack, and the image that is 10cm on your right also mimics your actions and strikes exactly 10cm of where your blow landed. This means that a)there is practically 0 chance for the image to hit and b) your opponent isn't activly trying to dodge two seperate hits that would leave him an open to an attack (flanked)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ratfolk ninja and Shadow clone All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.