Are spells considered skills?


Rules Questions


I have a player who is a barbarian and wants to multiclass into a spell-casting class, when he rages it says he cannot use and charisma, dexterity, or intelligence based skills, so is spell-casting considered using a skill?


"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."


Void Dragon wrote:
I have a player who is a barbarian and wants to multiclass into a spell-casting class, when he rages it says he cannot use and charisma, dexterity, or intelligence based skills, so is spell-casting considered using a skill?

No, a spell is not a skill in any way, shape, or form. But as Cataphor pointed out, there is another part of that sentence that prohibits spellcasting while raging.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

Skills are things like Diplomacy, Fly, Intimidate, and Perception. They have nothing to do with spells.

Spells require concentration. In fact, there's rules for maintaining your concentration when in a stressful or threatening situation. So, you definitely cannot cast spells while raging.


There are ways around it, though. An barbarian archetype, I believe.

eta: Nevermind, I read the order of the multiclass wrong.


okay so here is my second and third question the spell rage says that this spell is identical to a barbarian's rage so this would also prevent spell-casting correct?

3) what if they had an item that granted the class feature rage would this case prevent spell-casting

(only reason I want to know is the barbarian is thinking of making rage granting items for rest of party and then just having everybody rage.)


the Moment of clarity rage power allows you to "take a break" without becoming fatigued and you lose all benefits and all penalties for one round...and it acts as a swift action


Void Dragon wrote:

okay so here is my second and third question the spell rage says that this spell is identical to a barbarian's rage so this would also prevent spell-casting correct?

3) what if they had an item that granted the class feature rage would this case prevent spell-casting

(only reason I want to know is the barbarian is thinking of making rage granting items for rest of party and then just having everybody rage.)

It doesn't matter what the source is - if an ability grants rage that works like the barbarians rage then the same restrictions apply.

The Rage spell specifically states it works like the barbarians rage, so while the spell is in effect, no other spells could be cast.


just want to say thank you to everybody for the fast and helpful responses. I just want to make sure and advise the barb against this choice now because he doesn't have moment of clarity and I thought this combo doesn't make sense RAI. (just nice to know its RAW too):)


I think there is a rage power that lets the barbarian give his bonuses to other players as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are spells considered skills? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions