Lantern of Revealing being held


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

What are the rules for Lantern of Revealing?

Does this item have to be outside of the character?

A player of mine says he can keep this in his backpack, covered and protected, and have it still work.

I do't think it works this way.

Does the character have to hold it? He wields a two-handed weapon, so I don't think he can hold it and and swing his weapon.

I do believe he can activate it and set it down, though.

Dark Archive

"While it is lit, it also reveals all invisible creatures and objects within 25 feet of it..."

seems to me if it is lit, when the rays of the light shine on something apply the spell "invisibility purge."
if the lantern is covered I'd say it doesn't work.

Grand Lodge

That's what I would think.

What are the restrictions if this is hung from a belt or something during battle? Would it cover 360 around? Any penalties apply for having a lantern hanging like this?

Silver Crusade

Because the effect is based off the light (hence the range of effect) falling upon an area, would not work well in a pack. The item says it "operates" like a lantern with one additional effect that (while lit) it reveals hidden things. Much like a sword in a scabbard isn't going to cause much damage, same with the lantern. Must be used.

He could set it down.

No reason the light wouldn't shine bright enough even if hung at side to cause it not to work.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just let this PC put a burning lantern into their backpack, and see what manner of hilarity might ensue...


Lantern of Revealing wrote:

Aura faint evocation; CL 5th

Slot —; Price 30,000 gp; Weight 2 lbs.
Description

This lantern operates as a normal hooded lantern. While it is lit, it also reveals all invisible creatures and objects within 25 feet of it, just like the spell invisibility purge.

I would say in order for it to work it has to be lit, and it has to let the light out to purge invisibility. So, no it doesn't work in his pack covered up by everything. In fact, if he tried it I would say his backpack catches on fire.

He can light it and set it down though, and that would work just fine.

Dark Archive

nogoodscallywag wrote:

That's what I would think.

What are the restrictions if this is hung from a belt or something during battle? Would it cover 360 around? Any penalties apply for having a lantern hanging like this?

360?? I'd say no.

But there is a Lantern Shield, where you can hook a lantern into it.


Attached to a belt or shield I would say it covers a 180 degree arc in front of the character, maybe 270 if you're generous. This is because a solid object very close to the source is blocking a large portion of the light from being projected.


still no facing in pathfinder... your character is assumed to be turning and looking in all directions every round

Grand Lodge

are there any circumstances where directional attacks, abilities, etc. have to be adhered to? A real hooded lantern spreads out in a radius, so I would think this would allow the 360.


There is for instance a bullseye lantern which only sheds light in a cone, so it does provide a precedent to restrict the arc of lighting.

However, there is also something to the idea that there is no "facing" in Pathfinder either. The rules don't really provide any "illumination" on the subject and how to handle what would provide a real world obstruction to lighting.

After consideration it is probably better overall for the game if you just let the illumination work normally (whether held in hand, attached to a belt or a shield).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lantern of Revealing being held All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions