| Epok999 |
Is that really possible? The arcane bloodline's bonded item works with spells known, not spells in your spellbook, as far as I remember.
And if we just ignore that... could a wizard use eldritch heritage to gain a second bonded item? (or a second familiar, or to gain the benefices of a bonded item and a familiar at the same time?)
A half-elf or human wizard could start at level 1 with 2 bonded items this way!
| Renlar |
Is that really possible? The arcane bloodline's bonded item works with spells known, not spells in your spellbook, as far as I remember.
And if we just ignore that... could a wizard use eldritch heritage to gain a second bonded item? (or a second familiar, or to gain the benefices of a bonded item and a familiar at the same time?)
A half-elf or human wizard could start at level 1 with 2 bonded items this way!
Eldritch Heritage requires level 3, so if it were possible to stack them you would need to be level 3 with the appropriate skill focus.
| nate lange RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 |
Your sorcerer levels stack with any wizard levels you possess when determining the powers of your familiar or bonded object... This ability does not allow you to have both a familiar and a bonded item.
you cannot have both a familiar and a bonded item because of the second sentence; nor can you have 2 of either since the first sentence states that levels instead stack for the one you have (though you could use the combo to get a crazy high effective level for one, though i don't see much benefit to that).
| Epok999 |
Arcane Bloodline, arcane bond wrote:
Your sorcerer levels stack with any wizard levels you possess when determining the powers of your familiar or bonded object... This ability does not allow you to have both a familiar and a bonded item.
you cannot have both a familiar and a bonded item because of the second sentence; nor can you have 2 of either since the first sentence states that levels instead stack for the one you have (though you could use the combo to get a crazy high effective level for one, though i don't see much benefit to that)
In fact that does not mean you can't have 2 bonded items; your sorcerer levels stacks with any wizard levels for the bonded item related to this bloodline power. The sentence does not tell anything about having 2 bonded objects. If you are a wizard/sorcerer, your wizard's bonded object powers rely only on your wizard lv, while your sorcerer's bonded object would rely on both classes lv. That's all.
As for the other statement, "This ability does not allow you to have both a familiar and a bonded item.", nothing is said about having 2 bonded objects at the same time.Usually things in the game have a note if you can stack them or use the same thing several times.
I disagree... bonuses with no specified type are known to stack with every types of bonuses. Am I wrong?
I don't really care what was the intention of the person who wrote these rules (because I already made my own idea on the fairness of having 2 bonded objects). What I want to know here is whether or not there is a clear and logical rule about having two bonded objects.
But anyways... As I read the Arcane Bloodline ruling again, I understand that it is impossible to gain a bonded item with eldritch heritage if you are a wizard.
Once per day, your bonded item allows you to cast any one of your spells known (unlike a wizard’s bonded item, which allows him to cast any one spell in his spellbook
Logically, you can't use a sorcerer bonded item to cast a spell from a spellbook.