Is Apparent Master as broken as It seems?


Rules Questions


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

It allows spell resistance so it does not work on golems due spell inmunity.

Apparent Master


It does work on most other types of constructs, though, so it certainly still has its uses. You could also easily house rule that it works on golems due to the spell specifically referencing them, even though it technically shouldn't work.

I'm guessing the author (or the editor) simply didn't remember that particular part of the golem rules when he wrote the rules text.


Since it mentions that it effects golems specifically I'd allow it even though a strict reading of the rules says no. Faq'ed


That's a pretty obscure spell, from an old source printed before Pathfinder even existed. Most GMs might not have ever heard of it and many might not allow it.

Still, given the obvious intent of the spell and with golems explicitly mentioned in the spell, and also knowing that each kind of golem CAN be affected my magic, but only by a few spells listed specifically for each golem, I think it's safe to interpret this spell as working on golems as if this spell were listed on each golem's stat block as being able to affect them.

Now, a non-golem construct not immune to magic might have SR and if so, might be able to resist this spell, in which case, such a construct would be less susceptible to this spell than golems which strikes me as a bit odd, but maybe it was intended (e.g. this is basically a spell for controlling golems that coincidentally can also control other things).


It is mentioned that this question has been answered in the FAQ. Has anyone found that? I have looked at the original module listing, and it does not have an FAQ tab, so where is it?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is Apparent Master as broken as It seems? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions