Flaming Net


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

My player wants to add the flaming quality to his net. According to the rules under Strength, it is added to all thrown weapon damage rolls, but the net usually doesn't allow damage roles. Should he add his strength? More importantly, should the enemies take flaming damage every round they are entangled?

Grand Lodge

No and yes, adding flaming to a net does applies 1d6 fire damage to the entangled creature per round it is entangled.

Sczarni

My GM once ruled that it would deal the fire damage on the round when it hit, but remaining entangled in it wouldn't continue to deal fire damage.

I don't know if there is in fact a ruling for magic nets. I would love to build a net specialist though.

Sovereign Court

I am a net specialist for PFS. A Mordant Spire elf ranger. I wish nets would get a clarification, but they are kind of niche.


You add Str bonus to weapon damage rolls. Flaming doesn't add weapon damage dice, it adds "additional" damage dice (the kind that aren't multiplied on critical hits) so the 1d6 fire damage wouldn't get Str added to it any more than a Longsword with Flaming gets Str added to the fire damage. Furthermore, Flaming stays active even after the weapon is released so, presumably, the net continues to deal the fire damage each turn the target is snared in it. As a point of reference, if you use a Flaming Whip with the Greater Whip Mastery feat to grapple an opponent, the flaming damage continues to apply each turn, even though the whip isn't being actively used to make an attack each time. Hence, there's no restriction that the fire damage must be applied just as the result of an attack roll.


http://trapaday.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/troll-wig-trap-cr-3/

The Exchange

Interesting point: if you throw something like a net, and do not keep hold of the cord ordinarily used to control a netted foe, don't the usual rules of physical-contact-equalling-control-of-the-item mean that the person tangled in the net only has to take part of the net in one hand to become its new 'wielder', and immune to the fire damage it would ordinarily do?


Lincoln Hills wrote:
Interesting point: if you throw something like a net, and do not keep hold of the cord ordinarily used to control a netted foe, don't the usual rules of physical-contact-equalling-control-of-the-item mean that the person tangled in the net only has to take part of the net in one hand to become its new 'wielder', and immune to the fire damage it would ordinarily do?

That would be my interpretation.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flaming Net All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions