Ablative Sphere prevent movement?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Does casting an ablative sphere essentially root the caster to that spot until it is broken or dispelled?

What if it is only reduced to cover or partial cover? Can the caster escape his own sphere then?


Well, it says the sphere is immobile, so yes - I'd assume that the caster (who would be within the sphere) cannot move.

The spell's duration indicates it can be dismissed at-will, though; what are the circumstances where the caster can't simply dismiss the sphere if she needs to move?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Dismissing a spell is a standard action.


I used poor terminology, sorry about that - I meant "at will" as in they can consciously dismiss it, not as an immediate action. The remainder of the statement stands, though - RAW it seems the caster would be immobilized as long as the spell were up.

Of course now I want to use the research rules in-game to make a variant of the spell that lets you roll around in a giant ablative hamster ball...


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

lol.


Thinking back how to the 3.5 version of Resilient Sphere (mobile and therefore hamsterball ability vs the immobile PF version) and noting that the PF version unlike Wall of Force and Forececage doesn't specifically call out the it has HP and Hardness (you're left assuming that "functions as a wall of force" means it has similar stats if any).

Scarab Sages

sorry to revive this old thread, but I have a follow up question. should "immovable" mean "affected by gravity" or function like an immoveable rod? If a flying creature casts the spell, should it land first or does the sphere hover in mid-air?


I'm confused by the claim about not calling out HP and hardness, since the version on d20pfsrd specifically covers that.

d20pfsrd wrote:
The sphere is 1 inch thick per caster level, has hardness 5, and 3 hit points per inch of thickness. When an ablative sphere loses hit points, the level of cover it provides is reduced. When the ablative sphere has lost one-third of its hit points, it provides cover instead of improved cover. Once it has lost two-thirds of its hit points, it provides only partial cover. Finally, when the ablative sphere's hit points reach 0, the globe is destroyed. When an attack reduces an ablative sphere's hit points to 0, you take any remaining damage.

Anyway, I would say "immobile" means "does not move", so I would not expect it to be subject to gravity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ablative Sphere prevent movement? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions