Rules Question- Magic Missile


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I have looked at the threads on rules questions involving Magic Missile and the Intesified Metamagic Feat. I understand how the feat reads which would immediately make me think that it does not work with Magic Missile. After reading a few threads in the rules forums I have seen multiple times that the intent of the feat is meant to allow Magic Missile as well. I would like to know what PFS ruling is on this Combination. Does the feat work as stated or as intended?

Liberty's Edge

Expect Table Variation.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

I agree with Andrew. It's unreasonable to expect every PFS GM to be conversant with all the Rules Forum threads. Until a ruling hits the FAQ, I would expect that most PFS table judges would play the rule as written.

Which might be disappointing for your Level 11+ wizard.

Sczarni

PFS is generally going to lean more towards RAW, which in this case means the number of missiles caps out at 5. A 9th level Wizard gets just as many missiles as a 20th level Wizard. I do not see how Intensify would change this at all. If there happens to be an FAQ clarifying that this feat/spell combination does work, it will work in PFS as well.

RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

I did a search on the issue in the forums and found:

1. Several threads consisting of one or two people insisting it should work, and everyone else disagreeing. One of these had been FAQ'd, and marked as "no response required."

2. Two separate comments from James Jacobs in his thread, 3000 posts apart, in which he contradicts himself. But the more recent of the two said it wouldn't work.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Wow, I knew I forgot to ask something after running NO Plunder No Pay. This was it. I lean towards it working, myself.


"An intensified spell increases the maximum number of damage dice by 5 levels. You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat. No other variables of the spell are affected, and spells that inflict damage that is not modified by caster level are not affected by this feat."

"A missile of magical energy darts forth from your fingertip and strikes its target, dealing 1d4+1 points of force damage.

The missile strikes unerringly, even if the target is in melee combat, so long as it has less than total cover or total concealment. Specific parts of a creature can't be singled out. Objects are not damaged by the spell.

For every two caster levels beyond 1st, you gain an additional missile—two at 3rd level, three at 5th, four at 7th, and the maximum of five missiles at 9th level or higher. If you shoot multiple missiles, you can have them strike a single creature or several creatures. A single missile can strike only one creature. You must designate targets before you check for spell resistance or roll damage.
"

I would argue that magic missile deals 1d4+1 regardless of level, you get additional missiles only, which intensified spell specifically doesn't effect. RAW

On another note, RAI (not PFS relevant) I could easily see how the intent of the feat is to allow a spell to deal damage as per 1 spell level higher, which would cap MM at 7d4+7, which is well in line with 2nd level spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rules Question- Magic Missile All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions