Sior
|
PRD says so.
Bludgeoner (Combat)
You can knock foes out cold with just about any blunt instrument.
Benefit: You take no penalty on attack rolls for using a lethal bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal damage.
Normal: You take a –4 penalty on attack rolls when using a lethal weapon to deal nonlethal damage. You cannot use a lethal weapon to deal nonlethal damage in a sneak attack.
Special: A rogue with this feat can use a lethal bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal damage with a sneak attack.
And of course, sneak attack applies to both lethal and nonlethal.
| WafflePieCake |
PRD says so.
PRD wrote:And of course, sneak attack applies to both lethal and nonlethal.Bludgeoner (Combat)
You can knock foes out cold with just about any blunt instrument.
Benefit: You take no penalty on attack rolls for using a lethal bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal damage.
Normal: You take a –4 penalty on attack rolls when using a lethal weapon to deal nonlethal damage. You cannot use a lethal weapon to deal nonlethal damage in a sneak attack.
Special: A rogue with this feat can use a lethal bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal damage with a sneak attack.
Doh! Guess I missed that part. Thanks!
Dust Raven
|
what ever happened to knocking someone out with the butt of a sword? :[
edit: referencing non-lethal sneak attacks
I'd call it an unarmed strike, though I still consider it an armed attack for the purposes of avoiding an AoO. Hitting people in the head with the pommel of a sword is way to common to penalize, especially if the target is in a position where steak attack damage would apply.
| IejirIsk |
can sneak with non-lethal, even made a rogue that specialized in knocking out the field (level 5, could KO and possibly kill... 2 with a single swing.)
but can only NL SA with a NL weapon. (bludgeoneer specifically says they can NL SA)... rage, I would have to say no SA (sadly have a char that i wanna do that with :P) since it says you cant do anything requiring concentration/skill
| IejirIsk |
sorry, sneak attack + rage. kinda fuzzy, since it says you need to concentrate for SA, but raging says you can do nothing requiring concentration... another RAW v RAI thingies, I imagine...
Nonlethal sneak with a lethal weapon you cannot do. says in SA rules.
attacking non-lethally is just a -4, certainly (before exceptions)
Mergy
|
sorry, sneak attack + rage. kinda fuzzy, since it says you need to concentrate for SA, but raging says you can do nothing requiring concentration... another RAW v RAI thingies, I imagine...
Nonlethal sneak with a lethal weapon you cannot do. says in SA rules.
attacking non-lethally is just a -4, certainly (before exceptions)
Where does it say in the rules that sneak attack requires concentration?
| CRobledo |
why the blunt arrows and bludgeoner? or do you mix it up in melee too? the problem with NL is it can do lethal damage after enough of it. so at first level especially, you can kill with a nonlethal sneak attack :D
Blunt arrows still carry a -4 to attack when used to deal NL without bludgeoner. But yes, of course I also do mix it up when needed. I use some Sai to deal NL in combat, because for some evil reasons ninjas are not proficient with saps...
Todd Lower
|
trollbill wrote:Note that you cannot sneak attack someone for NL damage if you are using a normally lethal weapon and taking the -4 penalty to hit to do NL.Unless, of course, you have the Bludgeoner feat ;)
OOOooo . . . I see what you did there, brought the conversation full circle. :-)
Sior
|
Actually, if you have the Bludgeoner feat you aren't taking the -4 penalty, so his statement still stands...
<shudders> Ugh, I just agreed with a Troll... ;D
Bludgeoner feat specifically says a rogue can use a lethal bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage. That's what you get for agreeing with a troll, hahaha.
Eric Clingenpeel
|
<rolls eyes> Yeah, which really has nothing to do with what I posted.
He said you can't NLSA when taking the -4 with a lethal weapon to do NL dmg.
Carlos said Unless you have the bludgeoner feat.
But, with the bludgeoner feat, you aren't taking the -4 in order to deal NL damage with a lethal weapon, so Trollbill's statement is still relevant.
He was pointing out that if you are taking the -4 penalty to deal non-lethal damage that you can't sneak attack. Because you aren't taking the -4 penalty to change it to non-lethal damage when using bludgeoner, his statement is correct. The bludgeoner feat does nothing to invalidate his statement.
| Funky Badger |
why the blunt arrows and bludgeoner? or do you mix it up in melee too? the problem with NL is it can do lethal damage after enough of it. so at first level especially, you can kill with a nonlethal sneak attack :D
Seen this done with a falcata critical.
Poor confused guardsman didn't know what hit him...
Eric Clingenpeel
|
IejirIsk wrote:why the blunt arrows and bludgeoner? or do you mix it up in melee too? the problem with NL is it can do lethal damage after enough of it. so at first level especially, you can kill with a nonlethal sneak attack :DSeen this done with a falcata critical.
Poor confused guardsman didn't know what hit him...
Yeah, similar thing happened at my game on Thursday. Barbarian tried to deal non-lethal to a goblin. He crit'ed for 30 some damage. Snapped the poor goblin's neck instead of bruising its skull... :)