
![]() |

I would hate to think this is a redundant question, so I feel like asking it. I have read the rules, and there is no clear answer to this there.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/e/elemental-touch
After casting the spell Elemental Touch "You gain a melee touch attack". So your hands are temporarily charged for x rounds.
An attack action is a standard action, and a full attack allows you to attack with each weapon or natural attack.
Now suppose one has a single handed weapon in one hand (main) and nothing in the other. After casting the spell, I assume that the off hand can make the melee touch attack as a standard action, but what if a full attack is used? Does the off hand count now as a weapon? Do I need two weapon fighting? Is it a natural attack? Can I drop my weapon and try with each hand to use the melee touch attack from the spell?
If I have follow up questions I would ask them after I get some replies. I hope this is a straight forward situation.
Thank you.

Grick |

I assume that the off hand can make the melee touch attack as a standard action, but what if a full attack is used?
First, "Off-hand" is a term that only applies when two-weapon fighting, which only happens (barring extremely rare circumstances) with a full-attack. (I understand you were probably just using 'off-hand' to refer to the hand that isn't holding a weapon, but I wanted to be clear)
Second, this isn't exactly written in the rules, but according to James Jacobs, making a touch attack is basically a standard action.
Iterative attacks are SOLELY the province of weapons (and of spells that specifically work like weapons)—touch attacks and natural weapons do not work this way. Therefore, one touch per round with a produce flame, or one hurled flame per round.
Does the off hand count now as a weapon?
No. You're armed, since you can deliver a touch attack, but it's not a weapon.
Do I need two weapon fighting?
No. All the two-weapon fighting feat does is reduce penalties when you're two-weapon fighting. (Which you're not doing anyway)
Is it a natural attack?
No.
Can I drop my weapon and try with each hand to use the melee touch attack from the spell?
No, assuming James' intent is correct.
The other thing to keep in mind is that elemental touch is not a touch spell. It grants you a touch attack, but the range is not touch, so it doesn't follow the normal rules for touch spells, including Holding the Charge. So elemental touch is going to work differently than chill touch, for example.
With a touch spell, you can hold the charge then deliver it with an unarmed strike or natural weapon. This means you could hold the charge of chill touch, then make multiple unarmed strikes (or claws, etc.) with a full-attack, and deliver the spell on any that hit.
Elemental touch doens't work this way, so you're basically stuck making standard action touch attacks with it.