Readied Actions by Dim Door Passengers


Rules Questions


So A wants to attack X, an enemy across the field. A readies an action to attack X when X is within reach.
B helpfully Dim Doors with A over to X.
Does A take no actions until his next turn (as per Dim Door) or does the readied action move his turn and allow him to attack immediately?

Not interested in Delays being 'better' (and clearer) because I'm leading up to...

If A can take his readied action immediately...
So, lets say B readies his Dim Door for if X starts casting a spell or shooting a bow (or other action that provokes an AoO).
X starts, B Dim Doors, A (with readied action to attack X) comes in and attacks X. X then continues and provokes an AoO???
Does X have any options other than to continue their intended action and provoke?
Is it an auto-two-attacks by A?

Thanks for any help.


Pretty much, although in your example, if A hit X after being DD'd next to him when X began casting a spell, chances are that the concentration check forced by the hit will cause X to lose their spell such that they'll no longer be casting and won't provoke any longer (X still will have lost the action).

DD doesn't make anyone but the caster lose their remaining actions. Other creatures transported may continue to act just fine according to their initiative.

Also note that while what you proposed could be effective under some circumstances, if they know that their ally is about to use DD to get them into range, it'll usually just be better for the melee types to DELAY until after the DD casting ally, rather than READY actions. That way, they get their full round's worth of actions when they get there. Hello full attack barrage.


But delay doesn't allow you to interrupt someone else's action (your turn is coming up next, just not right now) . So the OP wants to know if you can chain off the readied actions so enemy E casts a spell, wizard W's ready action goes off to get next to him, and now fighter F's readied action goes off when the target is in range.

It ought to work, as far as I can see.


tonyz wrote:

But delay doesn't allow you to interrupt someone else's action (your turn is coming up next, just not right now) . So the OP wants to know if you can chain off the readied actions so enemy E casts a spell, wizard W's ready action goes off to get next to him, and now fighter F's readied action goes off when the target is in range.

It ought to work, as far as I can see.

Yeah I know. And I agree that it ought to work as described just fine IMO.

I only mentioned delay to point out that most of the time, the melee types will prefer their full attack to a single readied attack (and potentially a second triggered AoO). If you can make the delay tactic work, its going to be superior.

As long as the caster ally casting dimension door to bring his buddies along readied HIS action to interrupt the enemy caster (X), and as long as the melee guys who want to pound on X are ALREADY within the range required to be transported by DD (touch, so in a square adjacent to the caster), they may as well delay to get a full round of actions when they get to the destination.

If they are NOT already adjacent to their caster ally, they may indeed want to move adjacent and then ready an attack against X. Both work, but delay will be more effective most of the time if you can swing it.


Yes, but the OP knows that already :)


Fair enough ;-)

I guess I just don't see the advantage of doing it that way unless you have to.


Because you get to interrupt the enemy's action, instead of killing him only after he finishes it.


Thank you both, I was at work.
I thought it worked RAW, it just didn't feel right. Plus, since a readied action isn't in initiative order (and hence isn't 'your next turn') I wasn't sure it could trigger. But if the limitation only applies to the caster, it's all good.
Thanks, again.

As for delay being better, it really depends on too many variables to say, generally it's 2-3 iterative attacks vs. 2 Full BAB attacks.
But...
DD + Delay (Full Attack), then enemy caster goes
This is likely their best spell, maybe a game changer.
vs.
Ready, Ready, enemy goes, DD, Attack+AoO
They have likely lost their best spell and you both go first still. Your caster can likely counter while fighter finishes job.

Dark Archive

I dislike the idea that someone can begin casting a spell before you and you can finish yours in response to interrupt theirs. Without rules about some spells having shorter casting times, u really dislike this, except for maybe readied quickened spells.


Readied actions work this way.

PC1 Readied action: If enemy begins to cast a spell I cast D-Door to get buddy over to enemy.
PC2 Readied action: If I am within attack reach of enemy I hit him.

Sequence:
1) BBEG starts to cast spell.
2) PC1's readied action goes off. Initiative is now moved to ahead of Enemy's initiative.
3) PC2's readied action goes off. Initiative is now moved to ahead of enemy's but behind PC1.

Result: BBEG gets smacked, loses spell, and loses the action he was using to cast the spell (he was already in the middle of the action). He may use any remaining actions he has to do whatever else he can do.

Next turn: PC1 goes before Enemy and ruin's Enemy's day further. Next, PC2 REALLY ruins BBEG's day.

Readied actions are one of the most powerful elements of 3.X/Pathfinder. And, in my experience, one of the most under-utilized. I love them.

Does it create some logical inconsistencies? Yup. But then again, so do many elements of this game. What is one more?

- Gauss

Liberty's Edge

Castilliano wrote:


So A wants to attack X, an enemy across the field. A readies an action to attack X when X is within reach.
B helpfully Dim Doors with A over to X.
Does A take no actions until his next turn (as per Dim Door) or does the readied action move his turn and allow him to attack immediately?

A will not attack as he has the wrong trigger.

The ready action trigger are specific and "when X in range" is very different from "when I get in range of X".

You can ready an action to attack "when B DD me in range of X", but at that point a delay action generally is better.

About the AOO thing I are even less convinced.
You aren't there when X start the action that trigger the AoO. What happen when X start the action is that B DD you, but at that point the action has already started and triggered the AoO.

The "readied action happen before the other action" happen up to a point, it is not a Magic the Gathering chain of interrupts (and those have been removed from the game in the later editions from what I hear).

Shadow Lodge

Diego Rossi wrote:


A will not attack as he has the wrong trigger.
The ready action trigger are specific and "when X in range" is very different from "when I get in range of X".

You can ready an action to attack "when B DD me in range of X", but at that point a delay action generally is better.

About the AOO thing I are even less convinced.
You aren't there when X start the action that trigger the AoO. What happen when X start the action is that B DD you, but at that point the action has already started and triggered the AoO.

The "readied action happen before the other action" happen up to a point, it is not a Magic the Gathering chain of interrupts (and those have been removed from the game in the later editions from what I hear).

I read the rules differently. The readied action is not triggered by an action, but by condition(s), per the CRB p203. The condition that was set above was "A is within reach", which is met after the DD so A gets his readied attack.

Similarly, the AoO is triggered by the casting of a spell, not by starting to cast (table 8-2 on p 183 of the CRB). So by my reading of RAW, A would get his AoO because X is casting when A arrives.

Also note that AoOs interrupt the normal sequence of events, and are resolved immediately after they are provoked (CRB p180). So in the above case, my reading of the RAW is that A would take his AoO before he took his readied attack.


Readied actions are very powerful, which is why as a GM I tend to rule that (a) the trigger must be very specific, and (b) if you mis phrase it, tough. "Attack firs guy through that door" does trigger if its your friend. And if you try a complicated trigger, it can fail.

Liberty's Edge

Ferka wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


A will not attack as he has the wrong trigger.
The ready action trigger are specific and "when X in range" is very different from "when I get in range of X".

You can ready an action to attack "when B DD me in range of X", but at that point a delay action generally is better.

About the AOO thing I are even less convinced.
You aren't there when X start the action that trigger the AoO. What happen when X start the action is that B DD you, but at that point the action has already started and triggered the AoO.

The "readied action happen before the other action" happen up to a point, it is not a Magic the Gathering chain of interrupts (and those have been removed from the game in the later editions from what I hear).

I read the rules differently. The readied action is not triggered by an action, but by condition(s), per the CRB p203. The condition that was set above was "A is within reach", which is met after the DD so A gets his readied attack.

Similarly, the AoO is triggered by the casting of a spell, not by starting to cast (table 8-2 on p 183 of the CRB). So by my reading of RAW, A would get his AoO because X is casting when A arrives.

Also note that AoOs interrupt the normal sequence of events, and are resolved immediately after they are provoked (CRB p180). So in the above case, my reading of the RAW is that A would take his AoO before he took his readied attack.

The AoO will not trigger for a simple reason:

Cain of events:
1) Player X start an action that trigger an AoO, he fire a bow;
2) Player A has a ready action "when x start firing a bow [you can't have multiple triggers and 'a action that provoke a AoO isn't a valid trigger'] I will DD me and B near him"
3) Player A teleport himself and B near X
4) Players A and B don't get an AoO because the ready action say "If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.", not [i]he start[/b], but you get the AoO a) only when he start an action tat provoke and b) if you threaten his square when he provoke.
B fail both checks. He is in reach of X after his action started and he wasn't threatening the square when x action started.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Readied Actions by Dim Door Passengers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions