Havoc of the society clarification


Pathfinder Society

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Ok, Havoc of the Society reads:

Spoiler:
faction guide wrote:

Havoc of the Society (Sorcerer, Pathfinder Society):

Through countless hours studying vast libraries of arcane power, you have learned how to cause greater damage to your foes. Whenever you cast a spell that deals damage, you gain a +1 trait bonus to the total damage dealt. This damage is considered force damage regardless of the type of damage dealt by the spell.

Emphasis mine

Just so I'm clear.

1) Since it is force damage it doesn't suffer the problems with incorporeal critters. (e.g. my acid splash might not hurt the shadow, but the +1 point will since it's force. It also means acid splash does 1 point of (force damage) to a critter with acid resistance 5, correct?

2) It does not add the force descriptor to the spell. So for example, a fireball can't be made toppling because of this trait. (I orginally misread toppling spell and got hopeful for a moment, but I think the above is correct.)

I'm making a new first level sorcerer, learning from the mistakes with Rey, and wanting to make sure I'm right.


That seems about right, yes.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

This should be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

I believe you have the right of it Matthew.

1/5

You have it right. The spell will do whatever type of damage as described in the spell + 1 point of force damage. It does not change the descriptor - so no every spell is toppling build.

5/5

Nefreet wrote:
This should be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

No it shouldn't ... he's, from my understanding, asking specifically for something society related.

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Thank you PFCBG, that's why I posted it here. Society trait, PFS build.

So much for my dreams of a tubthumping fireball :-)

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Purple Fluffy CatBunnyGnome wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
This should be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.
No it shouldn't ... he's, from my understanding, asking specifically for something society related.

He's asking a rules question about a trait that has the word "Society" in it.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Nefreet wrote:
Purple Fluffy CatBunnyGnome wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
This should be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.
No it shouldn't ... he's, from my understanding, asking specifically for something society related.
He's asking a rules question about a trait that has the word "Society" in it.

Well seeing as how he got an answer, and everyone is in agreement, I am pretty sure this thread will slowly slide into oblivion.

No harm, no foul, right?

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Everyone here is in agreement, including myself, but generally it is better practice to ask rules questions in the proper forum. Lots of those people never read this forum, and are better equipped to answer questions like this. There may be some obscure rule that none of us are aware of that changes the descriptor of a spell when it deals additional damage, for example.

5/5

Andrew Christian wrote:

I am pretty sure this thread will slowly slide into oblivion.

adopts best sinister bunny voice and uses an ear for a mustache

nooooooooooooo shakes paw I shall post in ze thread forevers and evers and evers and eet shall never diiiiiieeeeeeeee

The Exchange 5/5 RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

While it doesn't help with the toppling metamagic, it does mean that the spell is virtually guaranteed to actually do at least one point of damage. So if there are carrier effects that require the attack to do damage, this gets around inconvenient energy resistances.

The Exchange 4/5

Chris Mortika wrote:
While it doesn't help with the toppling metamagic, it does mean that the spell is virtually guaranteed to actually do at least one point of damage. So if there are carrier effects that require the attack to do damage, this gets around inconvenient energy resistances.

yup, like dazing fireballs can still daze pit fiends with this one :).

4/5

Benrislove wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:
While it doesn't help with the toppling metamagic, it does mean that the spell is virtually guaranteed to actually do at least one point of damage. So if there are carrier effects that require the attack to do damage, this gets around inconvenient energy resistances.
yup, like dazing fireballs can still daze pit fiends with this one :).

Or even scarier for the pit fiend--dazing flurry of snowballs with havoc.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Havoc of the society clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society