
Ooga |
If you're playing on d20 and you use the ruler to measure 6 boxes pure diagonally, it will say you are 30 feet away (5 feet per box) even though you are more than 30 feet away since you are measuring diagonally (you know, Pythagorean theorem and all). So, how does this work in pathfinder? Am I considered 30 feet away since I am only 6 boxes away? or does it add more when you measure diagonal?

Ravingdork |

Essentially, each one is 1.5 squares, rounded down.
So an alternative method to Oladon's official method would be 1.5, 3, 4.5, 6 squares, etc. (rounding down to the nearest whole whenever you stop).
So if you use this method and have effectively moved 12 squares, then you've moved 60 feet diagonally (even though your mini has only actually crossed over 8 squares).

Grick |

As a general rule, distance is measured assuming that 1 square equals 5 feet.
Diagonals: When measuring distance, the first diagonal counts as 1 square, the second counts as 2 squares, the third counts as 1, the fourth as 2, and so on.
You can't move diagonally past a corner (even by taking a 5-foot step). You can move diagonally past a creature, even an opponent.
You can also move diagonally past other impassable obstacles, such as pits.
If your mini is in a square, and you move six diagonal squares away, you've moved 45 feet.

![]() |

If you're playing on d20 and you use the ruler to measure 6 boxes pure diagonally, it will say you are 30 feet away
Are you referring to some software, perhaps Roll20 If it is Roll20 I believe it originated as WotC's D&D 4e virtual table top and so I would imagine it would use the 4e method of measuring distance diagonally (i.e. each square is 5 feet for purposes of simplicity).